Green Pepper Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was great with a little tweaks, i sauteed the onions and green peppers in butter, i also added fresh garlic and red peppers (sauteed all together) I seasoned the pork chops with my favorite seasons, it was great!! It is even better as left overs, oh and the browning sauce is not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
As written, I can only rate this recipe as two stars and this is unfortunate because I feel it has good potential. First, there is no seasoning other than salt and pepper! But that was easily fixed with a sort of all seasoning blend called "Old World 3rd Street Seasoning" from the Spice House in Milwaukee (ingredients of which are unfortunately not included on the jar). I used it on the peppers and onions as well as the chops and also added fresh minced garlic. These two small additions alone I know made all the difference in this dish and definitely should be included. The flour was unnecessary so I didn't use it; I did use the browning sauce and wish I would have omitted that too. All it did was obliterate the beautiful colors of the green, orange, red and yellow peppers I used. Finally, the cooking time is far too long, particularly for boneless chops. To simmer these for 40 minutes would make them tough as a board! Boneless chops are so lean that they only need to simmer till cooked through - I think mine took 10 minutes. Still, the final result was very good, and had that final result been the actual recipe, I'd have rated it four stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Delicious dish that is quick & easy to make. Pork chops are very tender and tasty. I used red and green bell peppers to make the dish more colorful. The recommendation I have is to cook the bell pepper strips (and maybe the sauteed onions, too) only for the last 15-20 minutes of cooking time, otherwise they would get very mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a nice mild dish. Because I can never make smooth gravy, I shook my pork in flour instead of adding it at the end. This was great with garlic mashed potatoes. The flavors really blended nicely. I disagree with other reviewers who said not to cook the peppers the whole time. The point is for the peppers to soften & flavor the sauce. If you want crunchy peppers & onions, make fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My family loved this recipe and the only thing I did different was to saute the onions and the greenpeppers together along with 3 cloves of garlic. I also omitted the browning sauce because I didn't have any and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Fantastic! I added a pack of Lipton Onion Soup, and I didn't have the browning sauce. Turned out really tender and delicious. I worried that the peppers would turn to mush, but they were great - not mushy at all! Green peppers and pork really work well together, and I grew my own this year, and am tired of stuffed peppers. This was a great way to use up a few of them! Oh, you have to serve this with mashies to use the wonderful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaRed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
wonderful recipe. i made this almost exactly as written. i did use orange pepper instead of green. and because we are south beach dieters i omitted the browning sauce and flour. when the 40 min cook time was done i just drained off excess liquid and put it back on the burner to cook off any moisture. it was wonderful, full of flavor and tender. we could cut it with a fork. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Really good and easy to make!! Added mushrooms for some extra flavour with the green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was very good. For those people who are looking for "spicy" dish.. this is not for them. I did make some changes as suggested by another reviewer, DavidRayBob. I sprinkled the pork chops with salt, pepper and Old Bay Seasoning to liven them up after reading other reviews. I also sauteed the onions in butter with some garlic instead of oil. I also added some garlic and Old Bay Seasoning to the gravy before serving. I served it with the "Yummy Potatoes" recipe from this site. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was OK, but i felt it needed something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States