Green Pea Salad With Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
we used this recipe today. skipped the pickle and the red onion, just couldpt do it... ick, lol. It was great without them. I topped with turkey bacon. (oops I see onion in the photo, and now realzie it wasnt in teh recipe... I also think the photo must be why I thought to add the bacon. LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazkabor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Family loved it! Great salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I replaced the mayo for sour cream and though a little runny, pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toryerin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I love pea salads....I never use just thawed peas...I always blanc, they taste better. I added diced red onion and omitted the pickles because I didn't think the taste went with it at all. I realize this changes the dish but I added flaked crab meat and tiny shell pasta. I used mayo, but I have used Marzetti veggie dip before.......its also good in red potatoe salad...SO GOOD! My add ins makes for a one dish meal for hubby and myself at lunch time . So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I've been enjoying this salad for over 50 years, for those who thought it needed a bit more flavor, you might try adding "celery seed", it really adds a great depth of flavor and taste, and of course, if possible, make the salad the night before your going to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I am not a huge fan of peas but I loved this!! I added 3 crumbled pieces of turkey bacon. Delicious! Great summer picnic side dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
We love all the ingrediants in this salad, but that special something that makes you love a recipe was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Delish. Vegie low carb salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
A chilled green peas salad is refreshing fare in this desert climate. I tweaked it. I roughly halved the amount of mayonnaise. (I don't care for gloppy mayo-rich dishes and who needs the extra calories?!) I used just enough to bind. I eliminated the celery; it adds no flavor. (However, add it for crunchiness if you'd like.) I added about half a diced red onion. (Use red, not white -- more zing!) I eliminated the pickle. Not a big fan and didn't see that it'd really work with the other ingredients. Also eliminated the cheese; no need for the extra fat with the mayo. The red pepper gives it the zing this salad really needs. In short, with the various tweakings, I really didn't use this recipe after all! Regardless, I had to chime in because there's room for tweakings and improvements. Also, I'd definitely NOT use green pepper as the poster suggested. First, this salad benefits from more variety of color -- personally, I'd add a yellow pepper with the red -- AND the green pepper flavor's all wrong. This salad needs the zing of red peppers, yellow pepper, red onion, not the subtle sweetness of green pepper. (Something to remember particularly if you're using the amount of prescribed mayo -- it's a sweetener -- AND sweet pickle to boot!) As is, this recipe is too sweet and blah (not to mention loaded with too much fat from the mayo, which defeats the purpose of salads, n'est pas?!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This pea salad is real good, but even better with a 1/4 cup chopped smoked almonds added it it. Yummy! Be real careful with the salt, it is kind of blah without it, but easy to over do it. Can't wait to share it with family tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States