Green Pea Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I enjoyed this fresh twist on standard basil pesto. I used a cup of fresh snow & snap pea pods from my garden (instead of frozen) and blanched them in the water I was boiling for pasta. I added an extra Tbs of parm & a little extra lemon juice. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I'd give this 4.5 stars really, and what's the best about it is that it's great for vegetarians to get more protein easily. I pretty much stuck to the recipe, adding about 2 tablespoons more fresh parmeson, a little salt, lots of pepper, and an extra clove of garlic. It was still very mild - could use more of your choosing (salt, garlic, lemon, pepper etc.). I like that it was mild because I made this for 3 people and we had lots of thick pea pesto sauce, so got some decent protein in! I served this with pasta and zucchini, and would add even more veggies next time (like broccoli, asparagus or spinach - maybe even blend the spinach in the sauce). To get more protein, I made a salad with garbanzo beans (you could also try kidney), lettuce, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes and red cabbage. Extremely filling dinner that I surely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Fabulous! Followed recipe exactly with the exception of using dried basil and adding salt. (My basil is only now coming up.) I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
different, but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Tasty but the peas are fairly noticeable. I added almost a cup of fresh basil to improve the flavor. Very appropriate for spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker75463

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!!!! It was absolutely delicious and healthy! I reduced the oil and subbed dried basil for fresh because I didn't have any. Will definitely be making again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Everyone in my family loves this. I've made it several times. It's super easy, healthy and now a staple in our house. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I was thrilled to find this recipe - I've always made pesto with spinach to boost the nutritional value for my preschooler, but I was low on fresh basil and had no spinach in the house. As luck would have it, I happened to have a bag peas that had been hanging out in the back of the freezer for months. I tried the recipe as written and it was excellent. I decided to tweak it to the "gusto" of my family, and I added a little more olive oil, red pepper flakes and salt. My 3-year old just ate 3 spoonfuls right out of the food processor and he LOVED it! This may become our basic pesto recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerO
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My kids loved this! One nevers eats sauce on pasta ... he had 2 helpings of this! And it's such a quick fix! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerO

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States