Green Pea Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
really liked this....although i had to improvise a bit. had to make my own cream of celery soup...used frozen peas. no pimento and no chestnuts. used 'everything' buttery crackers. i would have taken a picture of it plated, but we ate it up too fast. thanks for the post SALLIEBRYANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Delicious and easy! Didn't include the water chestnuts or the onion 'cause of my family's tastes....still a winner! Oh, and I did use two cans of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This has taken the place of green bean casserole at our holiday table! It is so flavorful. I would cut back on the butter a little bit, but otherwise, I make it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
LOVED IT!!! I am a BIG pea lover and am so happy to have a different way to eat peas. I left out the pimentos, onion and chestnut, and used cream of potato instead. DEE-LI-CIOUS! You could put anything you like in here: bacon, potatos, carrots, really whatever you like. I LOVE THIS and will always make it. Thank you for this recipe! PS I tried fried onions on top, and that was good, but the crackers + butter are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
3 year old granddaughter had 5 helpings of this for Christmas! Enough said! Doubled all except soup and crushed crackers to serve family of 14 for Christmas. It reminds me of the inside of a delicious pot pie, not fussy, just warming and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Rave reviews on Christmas!!!! Looked beautiful, tasted wonderful! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakeabbycole'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I've made this recipe a few times and it always turns out great! I use 2 cans of peas, mix the cheese in with the peas, and halved the topping. Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made quite a few changes to this recipe, that suited my family's tastes and made this a delicous new ways to have peas. First I used two cans of peas instead of one. I omitted water chestnuts and instead of a cracker topping I used durkee french fried onions. I test ran this at Easter with 15 guests to great reviews - this warmed up excellently and is a great make ahead option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Delicious! I substituted cream of onion soup for cream of celery soup and left out the onions. I also used 2 cups of frozen peas instead of the canned peas. The frozen peas hold up better than the canned peas and don't get mushy on you. Great recipe! Will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
as a disclaimer, i've never been one to count calories or shy away from lots of butter or cream... but this was pretty heavy and gross. my whole house reeked of an overwhelming smell of butter and i probably took off 5 years of my lifespan with this meal. it wasn't horrible, but i won't be making it again. if you decide to make it though, i left out the water chestnuts per several suggestions, but i think it would have helped the flavor/texture to leave them in. i used canned peas as listed, but i think using frozen peas would make it feel less like an institutional meal. also, i would cut the amount of butter in half (the ritz crackers will provide plenty) - don't use margarine - it's transfat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States