Green Pea Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Very easy to make and quickly devoured. I'll double it next time, as it didn't even come close to 8 servings. I used frozen peas and baked 40 minutes; I think 30 minutes would have been better. Substituted a packaged 4-cheese blend and it was very tasty. I used Ritz crackers; the topping was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This is similar to a dish my grandmother made, and it is excellent. Even if you aren't a fan of peas, I bet you will like this! Leseur baby peas are my favorite brand to use for this recipe, and you can use Cream of Mushroom soup in stead of Celery and skip the water chestnuts, and it is still delicious. Whenever I make it, there is never any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We liked this alot! You could easily have put 2 cans of peas in that amount of sauce though and it would fare well. I'll do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. The water chestnuts added a nice crunch. I only ussed 1/2 the amount of topping, and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
We didn't think much of this. If I were to make it again, I would leave out the water chestnuts - we didn't like the crunchiness in this at all. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Great recipe! I leave out the chestnuts. Instead of canned peas, I use 15 ounces of frozen petite peas. Also use Ritz crackers for topping. I make this often and sometimes add diced cooked chicken breast. This dish and a salad makes a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
At the time of making this recipe I completely forgot about the water chestnuts so I left them out. My husband absolutely loved this casserole. I made it for a family gathering without the water chestnuts again and everyone raved about it. I give this a 5 star rating without the water chestnuts only because I've never used them and fear it may mess it up... Thanks for this simple and easy recipe that everyone seems to LOVE! Just for the record, I did have to double the recipe to take to the family gathering as it would not be enough if I had not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This pea casserole is soo easy and Sooo delicious! I wowed my boyfriend's family with it and it was my first time to make it. So delicious I'm making it again for the second time this weekend. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This dish was a nice side dish. I did not have chestnuts, so I used carrot. I also used frozen peas instead of canned, it has much fresher taste. The best part is I did not have buttery crackers, so I used stove top turkey stuffing for the top. It worked out just fine and gave a richer flavor. I know I would also love the buttery cracker as well. This was a fast, easy quick, healthy and good side dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States