Green Papaya Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We live in the Pacific Islands I love Green Papaya salads. I am forced to substitute Red Peppers for tomatoes. This is a very easy and fun salad and it looks wonderful. We use fresh Basil also which is really Thai traditional. Lovely salad. I may try it as written when or if I reach the states
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Note: Make sure you get the fish sauce that has a clear golden look to it (ex. Squid Brand). Also, Asian food stores sell the small mortar (get clay) & pestal (wooden) for around 5-10 dollars (great to use for all spices, plus it looks great in your kitchen...). I dont recommend using food processor, but to use mortar & pestal for garlic smashing and to bruise 12 halved cherry tomatoes. The salad will have a better texture if you just peel the papaya, then cut in half, lay it cut side down and use a julienne peeler so you have nice, long pieces of papaya in your salad. Referring back to the fish sauce - I accidentally purchased the fish sauce that is Greyish/Cloudy looking, and it was absolutely inedible. I spoke to my friend that turned me on to this salad (she's Thai) and she said that the fish sauce I purchased was more for the authentic Vietnamese cooked dishes. It will ruin your salad, so be very cautious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I had green papaya salad recently while visiting Hawaii. There, it was fantastic. I looked at this recipe and thought it sounded the same. I didn't like it at all. Maybe my papaya was too ripe. The fish sauce was definitely too much. I'll try to make it again, but next time, I'll make the salad as soon as I buy the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Great salad. If you don't julienne the papaya by hand (ridiculously time consuming), use the shredder in the food processor. I buy the long beans for the recipe and cut them into 1 inch segments and set them aside to toss in at the end. I seed the tomato and toss the "guts" into the food processor with the wet ingredients, and toss the leftover outside wedges of the tomato into the salad at the end, as well. Fresh thai chilis work the best, but remember that you can adjust the heat by not adding all of the peppers' seeds. If your resulting salad is "ring of fire" hot, just add a bit more sugar to cut the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My estimation is that 2 cups of shredded papaya is about the right proportion for this recipe. Best to use a mandolin board that can properly julienne the fruit into long thin matchsticks, but if all you have is a kitchen grater, use that large holes on the grater and try to get the shreds as long as possible. Easy on the fish sauce. It is very powerful, you may want to start out with half the amount shown and add more if desired. Not everyone is crazy about this flavor, even though it is authentic. I find that cashews work better than peanuts. Also about 5 cherry or grape tomatoes work better than a big tomato. Cut them into halves for bite sized pieces. In most cases, the flavor of a cherry or grape tomato is fuller, fresher, and riper than the bigger ones, at least if you are buying them and not growing your own. For truly authentic texture and taste, bruise the beans a bit. Mortar and pestle are good for this, or you can make do with a rolling pin. Just a slight bruising to release the flavor, since the beans don't get cooked. If made authentically, it will be hot, but feel free to step down the peppers if your palate prefers less heat. Use thai peppers if possible, or serranos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
perfectly awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
well my dad is from laos which this is wat we eat probably a few times a month. good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
tasted little like authentic thai cooking. im form a thai descent. you use a mortar and pestal, thai chilis, fish sauce, shrimp paste, garlic, lime juice, tomatoes, and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Loved the flavor of the papaya in a salad. I added actual lettuce and made it a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
The flavor was good, I didn't use the food processor, but chopped it manually to eat more like a salad rather than a pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States