Green Onion Ranch Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Justine
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and mixed everything in my food processor. This was super tasty as I served it with carrot and celery sticks along with ruffled potato chips. Will definitly make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Excellent, just the way written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatNip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe! I left out the jalapeno, because I wanted it to be used for younger children as well. A great way to use green onions from a CSA or garden. I mixed the leftover into mashed potatoes and my toddler loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I used reduced fat cream cheese, reduced fat sour cream, reduced fat mayonnaise and homemade ranch dressing mix (I suggest you use SD's dry ranch dressing mix, which is also on this site. I use that several times a week and it's totally replaced packaged dry ranch dressing.) I did thin this down with fat free milk so it would "dip" a little easier and stretch a little farther as well as technically be less calories per "dip". We all liked this a lot. This was a great way to make ranch dip at home with lowfat ingredients that I bought on sale this week. A little really does go a long way and it stretches really fantastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was delicious! I didn't have the suggested amount of green onions, but honestly, it didn't matter; it was flavor-packed with the amount I had on hand. I love the fact that this recipe did not call for a ton of mayo. This is a perfect dip if you are a green onion lover like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is my first ever review. I have never made my own dip before. You know, always the old standby, sour cream and onion soup mix. So, I tried this and passed it around to my family to taste test it. They didn't want me to take it away! I did not have the jalepenos, but still good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I wish I could give this a 4.5 rating, but since I can't, I rounded it up to 5 stars. The dip was very good, but not one I would RAVE about. I'm a big fan of anything made with dry ranch mix... in fact, I've invented or modified a bunch of recipes just to incorporate that very ingredient. I doubled this recipe, and in doing so learned a very important fact: that much dip does NOT fit into a normal blender receptaclel It must be done in two batches. Also, I made it the day before to allow the flavors to marry. They did; the dip was a big hit served with crudite, chips and crackers; and I am very pleased I tried it! Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Tomato

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
THIS IS A FABULOUS DIP! I will never buy store packaged. I did add a little chopped cucumber to the mixture. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I wanted a good Ranch Dip. This was it. I omitted the onion and jalapeno because I wanted a smooth dip. This was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was terrific and everyone raved! I used two bunches of green onions (maybe a total of 16) and saved one to snip on top as a garnish. I didn't use the jalapeno as I served it with the Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos from this site. I always use my kitchen shears to cut green onions, doesn't crush them like a knife would and goes pretty quickly. Oh, and I'm thinking if you leave out the sour cream and mayo this would make a great bagel spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States