Green Onion-Parmesan Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I am always cooking the same thing everything night. So when I tried this recipe to spice up my chicken, my family was so excited!! This sauce is delicious! I made it with chicken and even tried it with hamburgers. On an evening with my friends, I made it as a dipping sauce with vegetables. What a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This is the best mornay Sauce I've ever eaten! I tried it over chicken cordon bleu as suggested and it was awesome! Even the kids loved it. I also tried it on fresh string beans. I will be making this very easy but tasty cheese sauce many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Wow, this was great. I stuffed some mushrooms with wild and white rice, onions, garlic and parsley, added a little of this sauce to the mixture. I stuffed the mushrooms and placed in a cassarole dish and poured the remaining sauce over them and topped with some more swiss and parm cheese. Baked at 350 for about 25 min.....yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Delicious as is! I added pasta and it was a very elegant side dish served with chicken. Will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe that I make with homemade chicken cordon bleu. I omit the green onions and also give it a good sized splash of dry white wine because we like the depth of flavor it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made this sauce yesterday. I didn't think I would like it because I don't like swiss cheese, but my hubby does. We both LOVED this sause. I followed the recipe exactly. Will make again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I never even knew what mornay sauce was until I stumbled across this recipe. I'm not a big fan of swiss cheese, but it sounded like it would go perfectly with the veal chops I was going to cook, and my suspicions were correct. I followed everything in this recipe, and my sauce came out a bit too thick and grainy, but no one made any complaints. I think I may end up cutting the Parmesan down to 3oz next time, as I suspect that the Parm is my culprit for the grainy texture because I may have been a bit over 4oz. I ended up adding about 1/3 cup of milk to try and thin the sauce out a bit, but with all that cheese it would have taken more to get it the consistency I wanted. I even cooked the roux longer to ensure it wouldn't thicken the sauce to a molasses like consistency with all that cheese, but no luck. It may sound like complaints, but I have nothing to really judge my sauce off of, as I don't often eat french cuisine. Despite this batches shortcomings, I'll be using this sauce again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I've made this recipe twice and am always surprised by how delicious it is. Nothing more to add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was easy and just incredible! Served it over medium shell pasta with grilled salmon and broccoli. It was so good, everyone coated the whole meal with this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States