Green Onion Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was such an easy and delicious recipe!! I have never made green onion cakes myself but my parents and grandma always did as I was growing up. This really brought back good memories! I halved the recipe, and we ate all but two pancakes before the dirty dishes were even washed! Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by spicyme
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
in response to the below post about whether the dough should rise, no traditional green onion cakes do not require yeast, and the dough is not meant to rise...as you can see from the photo, it is meant to be a flat cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I bought these frozen about 2 weeks ago in my local asian store. I had never tried them before but they looked good. I liked the taste of them so much that I came here looking for a recipe. Let me just say YUUUUUM. These are excellent and taste better than the ones I bought. I have made these twice now and I cant seem to get enough. I eat them with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
this is very close to the recipe that I use for green onion cakes (Martin Yan version). Green onion cakes are meant to be flat..the purpose of letting the dough rest is just to develop the gluten and make the cake more tender when fried. These cakes are typically served as appetizers in Asian restaurants. They are meant to be somewhat plain...I brush mine with sesame oil and sprinkle some salt when doing the layer of chopped gr. onions. The key is to serve them with a dipping sauce....my favorite is soy sauce mixed with a little bit of super hot red chili sauce (you know, the kind with the bright green lid in the Asian cooking aisle). They are meant to be enjoyed with sauce, thus they are kinda plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I cannot believe this recipe is online! My immigrant mother made these scallion pancakes faithfully for us growing up. She herself grew up having them in pre-communist China and then Taiwan. It is the quintessential comfort food in our home. Goes well with congee and pickled goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is a great food I eat all the time. Guests love it, and always ask for the recipe. I grew up using a different one, but this tastes just the same! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cate S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
We (3 of us) liked this a lot. The kids inhaled them. Hubby is not a fan of a lot of onions, so he thought they were ok. I did try a change and took some and brush sesame oil on them instead of veggie oil (before sprinkling on green onions) and proceeded like normal. The change was great! The flavor is reminiscent of Asian onion pancakes they serve at dim sum. I will do these again. Perhaps using Chinese roast pork in the center instead of green onion for hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I don't know much about flour type ingredients, but after getting all of the other ingredients ready, I realized the kitchen I use didn't have any regular flour. So instead, I made these with biscuit mix. I'm sure that changes things up a bit, but it did make them super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Delicious and unusal... my boyfriend and I loved these! Made them for some guests too and they were a hit. First time I followed recipe exact... second time I added much more salt and pepper than recipe calls for, and more onion, and a dash of onion powder and garlic powder. Gave it a little more flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Great salty snack. Could use to replace plain flour tortillas in so many dishes too. After rolling it into a cigar shape, I didn´t roll it to look like a circle but rather like a tight spiral; worked out great. I used just enough oil to coat the pan for frying, otherwise it´ll be too greasy for me. Wipe the pan with a dry paper towel to get rid of any burnt flour left behind before frying the next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States