Green Onion Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I have never heard of these before, the recipe caught my attention the other day and since, I could not get it out of my head. I followed this recipe and the instructions, ...easy and DELISH! Just my husband and I enjoying them today but you can bet I will make them to impress company soon. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Followed the recipe to the letter. I thought these were very tasty. Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I bought these frozen about 2 weeks ago in my local asian store. I had never tried them before but they looked good. I liked the taste of them so much that I came here looking for a recipe. Let me just say YUUUUUM. These are excellent and taste better than the ones I bought. I have made these twice now and I cant seem to get enough. I eat them with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Great salty snack. Could use to replace plain flour tortillas in so many dishes too. After rolling it into a cigar shape, I didn´t roll it to look like a circle but rather like a tight spiral; worked out great. I used just enough oil to coat the pan for frying, otherwise it´ll be too greasy for me. Wipe the pan with a dry paper towel to get rid of any burnt flour left behind before frying the next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Delicious and unusal... my boyfriend and I loved these! Made them for some guests too and they were a hit. First time I followed recipe exact... second time I added much more salt and pepper than recipe calls for, and more onion, and a dash of onion powder and garlic powder. Gave it a little more flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I don't know much about flour type ingredients, but after getting all of the other ingredients ready, I realized the kitchen I use didn't have any regular flour. So instead, I made these with biscuit mix. I'm sure that changes things up a bit, but it did make them super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
We (3 of us) liked this a lot. The kids inhaled them. Hubby is not a fan of a lot of onions, so he thought they were ok. I did try a change and took some and brush sesame oil on them instead of veggie oil (before sprinkling on green onions) and proceeded like normal. The change was great! The flavor is reminiscent of Asian onion pancakes they serve at dim sum. I will do these again. Perhaps using Chinese roast pork in the center instead of green onion for hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I've been making these for years! I got my recipe from a street vender inTaiwan. Great stuff, reminds me of home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theathenenoctua

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
this is very close to the recipe that I use for green onion cakes (Martin Yan version). Green onion cakes are meant to be flat..the purpose of letting the dough rest is just to develop the gluten and make the cake more tender when fried. These cakes are typically served as appetizers in Asian restaurants. They are meant to be somewhat plain...I brush mine with sesame oil and sprinkle some salt when doing the layer of chopped gr. onions. The key is to serve them with a dipping sauce....my favorite is soy sauce mixed with a little bit of super hot red chili sauce (you know, the kind with the bright green lid in the Asian cooking aisle). They are meant to be enjoyed with sauce, thus they are kinda plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I cannot believe this recipe is online! My immigrant mother made these scallion pancakes faithfully for us growing up. She herself grew up having them in pre-communist China and then Taiwan. It is the quintessential comfort food in our home. Goes well with congee and pickled goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States