Green Onion Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I don't know much about flour type ingredients, but after getting all of the other ingredients ready, I realized the kitchen I use didn't have any regular flour. So instead, I made these with biscuit mix. I'm sure that changes things up a bit, but it did make them super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
We (3 of us) liked this a lot. The kids inhaled them. Hubby is not a fan of a lot of onions, so he thought they were ok. I did try a change and took some and brush sesame oil on them instead of veggie oil (before sprinkling on green onions) and proceeded like normal. The change was great! The flavor is reminiscent of Asian onion pancakes they serve at dim sum. I will do these again. Perhaps using Chinese roast pork in the center instead of green onion for hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I've been making these for years! I got my recipe from a street vender inTaiwan. Great stuff, reminds me of home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theathenenoctua

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
this is very close to the recipe that I use for green onion cakes (Martin Yan version). Green onion cakes are meant to be flat..the purpose of letting the dough rest is just to develop the gluten and make the cake more tender when fried. These cakes are typically served as appetizers in Asian restaurants. They are meant to be somewhat plain...I brush mine with sesame oil and sprinkle some salt when doing the layer of chopped gr. onions. The key is to serve them with a dipping sauce....my favorite is soy sauce mixed with a little bit of super hot red chili sauce (you know, the kind with the bright green lid in the Asian cooking aisle). They are meant to be enjoyed with sauce, thus they are kinda plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I cannot believe this recipe is online! My immigrant mother made these scallion pancakes faithfully for us growing up. She herself grew up having them in pre-communist China and then Taiwan. It is the quintessential comfort food in our home. Goes well with congee and pickled goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My grandmother used to make these when I was a child, and she always put onion powder in hers, to give it more of an onion flavour. I followed the recipe, with the addition of a teaspoon of onion powder, sea salt, and ground white pepper. I rolled them the way my grandmother did, which is to portion them out (16-18 per recipe), using hands, roll each portion into a hotdog-like shape, then with a rolling pin, roll out into a long, thin rectangle, about 1/8" thick. Brush with oil, sprinkle on green onions, and roll into cigar lengthwise. Next, take one end and begin coiling the cigar into a patty (like how a snake coils itself), and tuck the end tail under. Next, roll flat with rolling pin, again, 1/8" thick. I like to make two batches at a time, and freeze them, with parchment paper inbetween. No need to defrost when pan frying, just lower the temp a bit, and cook a bit longer. Sprinkle with salt and serve with hoisin sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I hate to give these such a low rating but they were SUPER bland!!! I added a good amount of salt and pepper as stated to do and bland, bland, bland. It had to be the dough. I even added more salt on them as they were frying and we still had trouble getting them down. Good thing I served some yummy soup with them so we could dip them in it to it to get them down. I threw away about 12 of these :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicyme
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
in response to the below post about whether the dough should rise, no traditional green onion cakes do not require yeast, and the dough is not meant to rise...as you can see from the photo, it is meant to be a flat cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
It was pretty good but the bread is a bit tough. Should the dough rise to twice the size after it's rested? Mine didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Interesting recipe. Thanks for sharing. I served these along side butternut squash soup, and they were very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy X

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States