Green Onion Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I cannot believe this recipe is online! My immigrant mother made these scallion pancakes faithfully for us growing up. She herself grew up having them in pre-communist China and then Taiwan. It is the quintessential comfort food in our home. Goes well with congee and pickled goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My grandmother used to make these when I was a child, and she always put onion powder in hers, to give it more of an onion flavour. I followed the recipe, with the addition of a teaspoon of onion powder, sea salt, and ground white pepper. I rolled them the way my grandmother did, which is to portion them out (16-18 per recipe), using hands, roll each portion into a hotdog-like shape, then with a rolling pin, roll out into a long, thin rectangle, about 1/8" thick. Brush with oil, sprinkle on green onions, and roll into cigar lengthwise. Next, take one end and begin coiling the cigar into a patty (like how a snake coils itself), and tuck the end tail under. Next, roll flat with rolling pin, again, 1/8" thick. I like to make two batches at a time, and freeze them, with parchment paper inbetween. No need to defrost when pan frying, just lower the temp a bit, and cook a bit longer. Sprinkle with salt and serve with hoisin sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I hate to give these such a low rating but they were SUPER bland!!! I added a good amount of salt and pepper as stated to do and bland, bland, bland. It had to be the dough. I even added more salt on them as they were frying and we still had trouble getting them down. Good thing I served some yummy soup with them so we could dip them in it to it to get them down. I threw away about 12 of these :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicyme
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
in response to the below post about whether the dough should rise, no traditional green onion cakes do not require yeast, and the dough is not meant to rise...as you can see from the photo, it is meant to be a flat cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
It was pretty good but the bread is a bit tough. Should the dough rise to twice the size after it's rested? Mine didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Interesting recipe. Thanks for sharing. I served these along side butternut squash soup, and they were very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy X

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was such an easy and delicious recipe!! I have never made green onion cakes myself but my parents and grandma always did as I was growing up. This really brought back good memories! I halved the recipe, and we ate all but two pancakes before the dirty dishes were even washed! Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is a great food I eat all the time. Guests love it, and always ask for the recipe. I grew up using a different one, but this tastes just the same! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cate S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States