Green Onion Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I was concerned after reading some of the reviews which stated that the dough was bland. So I followed the advise of another reviewer and added salt, white pepper and onion powder to the dough. That seemed to do the trick, and otherwise I followed the recipe. I did sprinkle the cakes with additional salt when they were done as well. These were terrific and my husband and I gobbled them up. Thank you so much for the recipe, spicyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I added Ricotta cheese to it and it was AMAZING! Wonderful and easy, and the base can be used for other things like little breakfast pockets or dessert pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Really yummy, but needs some tweaking of some sort to be 5 stars! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was delicious!!! One tip...after you take them off the pan sprinkle them with salt...what a world of difference. Also dip with soy sauce mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! Great appetizer..I nearly finished them before I plated them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great recipe! Protip: Use bacon grease in place of vegetable oil to make this dish super delicious! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I love this recipe! It is so easy and inexpensive and there are never leftovers because everyone gobbles them up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
So easy to make and delicious. I will make these again. The kids liked helping to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except I made large pancakes instead of 16 small ones. The salt is just enough to bring out the green onion. I don't serve mine with any sauce. I like them slightly crispy just the way they are. I pan fried them in my cast iron too. It's important to roll the dough into cigars or spirals. This is what makes layers within the pancakes and creates a tender texture. This is terrible as leftovers, so you'd better hurry up and eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
These were solid, but not exceptional. If I make them again, I will alter the recipe for a little different flavor - perhaps sauteeing the onions first for a sweeter taste, and adding a little salt to the dough to bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I have never heard of these before, the recipe caught my attention the other day and since, I could not get it out of my head. I followed this recipe and the instructions, ...easy and DELISH! Just my husband and I enjoying them today but you can bet I will make them to impress company soon. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States