Green Onion Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
For a low fat biscuit I was pleasantly surprised. i would add a bit more salt for my preference and definitely think that 10 biscuits is a better serving estimate. But overall very easy and tasty. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I think these would have been better had there been some fat in this recipe cut into the dry ingredients--either lard or cold butter. I think that's what it was missing. The canola oil just wasn't quite right. It's a good start. Next time, I might just cut out the canola oil and use cold butter instead. Really bummed out as they looked really pretty, there just wasn't the flavor we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I wanted to like this recipe; I really did. I mean, how can you go wrong with biscuits, and the fact that I could put my extra green onions to use was a bonus, right? I should have known something was wrong when instead of using butter or shortening it called for vegetable oil. The biscuits came out chewy on the inside (and no, I didn't overwork the dough), and the flavor was completely blah. Husband couldn't find anything good to say about them (and he's very good at looking at the bright side of things); he asked me not to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I would make these again. Made buttermilk with 1 T vinegar and milk. Used EVOO instead of the canola oil. Added a good amount of garlic powder and even more onion powder. Next time I will add even more sliced green onions. We enjoyed these, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Loved them! I didn't have any canola oil, so I subbed 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil and 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (which gave the biscuits a great flavor). I also added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder to the mix. I made them slightly larger and came out with 10 nice sized biscuits. I baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes and that was perfect! These were very moist and tasty, which is saying a lot for a lowfat biscuit recipe. I really enjoyed the slight onion flavor and it went very well with our soup. I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Delicious and very easy to make! A great way to use leftover green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Turned out ok but needed more salt, more onion powder, and I used a combination of green onions and fresh chives. If I were to make them again, I would add garlic powder to the biscuit dough, and brush the tops with garlic butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Bland! And very tiny. I even added extra onion powder but these came out almost tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cicero, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These were okay...nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This recipe is great. Perfect with a salisbury steak dinner. Relatively quick and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States