Green Olive Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This sort of reminded me of an easy arroz con pollo. The only thing missing were capers. First off, mine cooked in way under 1 hour. Second, I needed way more liquid. About 20 minutes in I needed to add more and again 15 minutes later. Next time I will use chicken stock and white wine (probably 2 Cups total) One cup was not enough. Using tomato sauce instead of the diced tomatoes would make it more authentic, but the diced was fine. I actually chopped mine up more into smaller pieces. Easy tasty meal...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
My wife and I love this meal. We cut the salt out, and we use diced tomatoes. I love the way the green olives add flavor. pretty easy to make. We have this meal quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
The flavor was excellent. I used more green olives than called for because we love them. Used brown rice instead of white and I should have cooked it a bit before hand. My 9 year old ate as much as my husband did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
LOVED this one! I'll definitely make it again. Prepared pretty much as directed, except I didn't drain the tomatoes. Just added a little less water. The green olives add a nice tang to this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I used olive oil instead of butter and added the chicken, which I diced, with the other vegetables and sauteed for a while. I only had pimento stuffed olives but it didn't matter. I also left out the salt because the olives were in brine. I partly cooked brown rice before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. This one is a keeper, thanks. I have also made this with canned tuna added in the last few minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Ok, I really liked this dish. I love tomatoes and olives. My family however was less impressed. My husband (not a big tomatoe person) thought it had too many olives, and my girls only wanted the olives. I didn't cook the rice in the dish, I just made it on the side so I reduced the liquid in it. I did about 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of white wine. I think I put a bay leaf in also. Oh, and only cooked for 30 min. Didn't alter any more than that. I will make this again someday, but not as often as I would like because of family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Added a dash of cumin to the chicken, seared the chicken before adding to sauce, and substituted canned tomato with tomato sauce. Delicious. Excellent on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was good! Very juicy chicken. I read other reviews and omitted the salt. I wish I hadn't though. I think it would have been better with it. The sauce was still very watery after the rice and chicken were done cooking so I added some minute rice to absorb the excess moisture. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This recipe was incredible! I added fresh chopped garlic and instead of water, I used chicken broth and white wine. I don't eat rice, but partner does, so she made rice on the side and I just ate the mixture and the flavor was delicious! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMurda77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Loved it! The green olives are just a treat in this chicken and rice dish. I portioned this out into individual portions and froze them for later consumption. Freezes beautifully and makes a great, quick lunch. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyH.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States