Green Olive Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I love olives so with the addition of a few tomatoes this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My husband and I loved this. It did have a think broth but still good. Added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
I thought that the olives in this recipe would make it too salty or tart, but the sweetness of the onion balances it out nicely. I didn't have potatoes so I used baby carrots instead, and mixed a bit of cornstarch and water into the final few minutes of simmering to produce a rich and flavourful broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nestle74
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
We tried this recipe, my husband thought it was too salty but I thought it was great, I didnt chip the potatoes small enough. I did add the baby carrots which gave it a nice color/texture difference. I think next time, I will try it with young turnips instead, they should absorb some of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I was very skeptical of this recipe the whole way through but the end result was yummy and tender. I ommitted the onion and accidently added the whole jar of olives but it still tasted great! The brine from the olives gives a nice salty taste. I didnt give it a 5 just because I wasnt too impressed with the finished look of it but it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil' nik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I should have believed the first review about it not being too salty! In fact...I will use the whole jar of olives AND all the brine next time (to be fair, we are HUGE olive fans). The potatoes really negate the salt...so it can take the extra olives! Great flavor. Made it with boneless, skinless chicken thighs. VERY tender! PS: The carrots were a great idea too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwbarker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luckey, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Although this turned out more like a soup, it was quite good. I served it over rice and saved the leftover broth and made soup the following day. If I had used less potatoes and thus less water it would have been less like a soup. I used chicken thighs and added carrots. I definitely didn't think it was too salty as others had mentioned, in fact I think it wasn't salty enough and I added salt after the fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Great & very easy recipe. Has become a regular favorite at our house-- thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I thought I followed the recipe exactly but mine came out soupy and gross. I ended up giving the chicken to the dogs. Maybe it was something I did wrong but I wouldn't recommend this or make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong here. It was simply awful. It turned out to be a very thin potato soup with chicken and green olive floating in it. I added flour to thicken, but it just wasn't good. I would probably take the olives out completely, add salt, and have a broth based potato and chicken soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States