Green Monster Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
When I saw "1 Tbsp Peanut Butter" and "2 Cups Spinach" I was quite skeptical. But just that little bit of peanut butter really does take over the flavor of the smoothie. Delicious! And if you are a parent, this is a GREAT way to sneak some raw roughage into your child's diet. Incidentally, the reviewers who use Vanilla yogurt instead of plain are right, that does enhance the taste a bit. But I tried it both ways, and found both quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I make this same smoothie every day. Just now saw the recipe on here. If you like PB, you'll love this - and it's packed with nutrients - like a whole meal in one :) If you want to make it even MORE healthy, add some flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This tastes like peanut butter mostly. I think next time I will use regular vanilla yogurt instead of greek. It's sweeter and cost less. It does not taste green nor can you feel any spinach in your mouth when you drink it. I don't eat green vegetables and this is a great addition to my diet. Kids will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I did not care for this recipe...and I like spinach in all its forms. I made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I use unsweetened almond milk instead of milk and yogurt...this is an addicting breakfast smoothie! Will also try with kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fabulous! Best smoothie recipe yet with spinach. I needed a healthy drink since I cracked my tooth in half today and can't eat anything until I get to the dentist. It may become my new dessert. I substituted fat-free vanilla yogurt for the plain since that is what I had on hand and I think it added just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Oh my gracious, this is a great smoothie. My kids loved it. I used coconut milk and vanilla yogurt. what an amazing taste it was. We made it our whole dinner. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
tastes awesome!!! simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This is a yummy little smoothie! I did not have a banana so I used an apple. Worked great. Also added 1 Tbsp of ground flax seed and used unsweetened almond milk. I used plain greek yogurt, which I eat all the time. If you use vanilla yogurt, keep in mind that you're adding a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Disclaimer: I tweaked a touch, only b/c of what I did/not have onhand. I used fresh spinach that I froze just for this recipe, did not have the yogurt, threw in a few strawberries and used Smart Balance pb. I always add cinnamon and vanilla to my smoothies. After blending, I took a spoonful, sampled it, pulled the spoon away to look at it and said (to no one in particular) - "No way...!" This is downright yummy! I was sad when I finished it (though a bit relieved, as I was quite full!) Intended to add protein powder to it, but I couldn't find where hubby put it - will add next time (ie - tomorrow!) for the protein punch. Spinach...who would have ever guessed...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States