Green Hot Sauce (Salsa Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Great salsa! For a different spin on it, try oven broiling the tomatillos, peppers, onion and garlic until slightly charred. Then puree. I usually add some chopped fresh cilantro and a couple squeezes of lime juice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is my salsa verde. I noticed the amount of water need in this recipe is missing, you should start with 1 cup of water, it shoud be absorbed by the time the tomatillos are golden brown. Also some people like to add 1 bunch of chopped cilantro, and a squeeze of lime. But I like mine just how it is. Also if you want a smoother version you could put it through the strainer after you blend it to get the seeds out. Also if you dont want it that spicy you can use different chilies. Jalapenos work well. Also, do not drain the water, it should be mostly absorbed by the time your tomatillos are browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I made the recipe as written, & I thought it was bland & salty. That's why I'm giving it 3 Stars as written. Maybe it's b/c I'm Mexican, so I've tasted a lot of salsa since I was a young child. I add it to almost anything! But this salsa wasn't spicy. It was salty and that's not the way salsa should be, correct me if I'm wrong. However, I thought it had potential, & after the changes I made, it's now a 5 in my house. I make it quite often. Here are the changes: I use 18 serrano chile peppers, 2 Jalapenos, about 3/4 cup of cilantro, garlic stays the same except I add it when I blend the veggies (the amount of onion & tomatillos also remains the same), and I definitely did not add 2 TBS of salt(Unless you like salty salsa)! That is crazy! I added 1 TEASPOON of salt WHILE I blended all the ingredients. I was much more satisfied with the salsa after I made the changes. Oh, after the veggies are done, drain them, then blend. The recipe neglects to say that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Saw this recipe this morning. I made it this afternoon. I just had a couple of spoonfuls right after I blended it. It was still hot, but I have a theory. Anything good hot will be good cold. I know there are exceptions like oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Pretty good recipe but poor instructions. This recipe does not say to drain the water, which you have to do before you put the cooked veggies in the blender. I sauteed the garlic separately since I knew I wouldn't be able to strain it out of the water. As another reviewer suggested, I added lime and some cilantro to mine once everything else is in the blender. Lime makes everything better. I probably used 3/4 of the salt. This salsa is very spicy, in fact I don't think I've ever made one this hot. I'm a bit disappointed since I made this for a party and it might be too much for some people. I used 16 tomatillos, 1 1/2 onions, and 8 serranos, and it was still very, very hot. Next time I would only use 4-5 serranos, but I like my verde salsa relatively mild to medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was delicious. It made quite a bit, and since I was the only one eating it, I had quite a bit left over, even after a couple of days of snacking. I added the remaining salsa to chili I made later in the week, and my husband loved it. I also roasted the tomatillos, over my gas burner, to add smoky flavor to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
great and simple salsa verde! the only regret i have is that i didn't scale up the size from the original recipe. warning: once you start eating this, it's almost impossible to stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was my first experience cooking with tomatillos so I wanted a nice and easy recipe. I liked this a lot but I found the salt (only added 1 tbls) to be overpowering. I made a second batch because I have everything available from my garden and omitted the salt and combined the two batches - perfection! Also used a combination of jalapenos and serranos and added the juice of a lime. Thanks, SB, for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was very good and quite easy. I cook almost everything on the grill so I tried this in a skillet over med-hi heat and it worked good but not hot enough to cook off the liquid. I split it up into three portions and tried it 1.as written, 2.with some cilantro and lime, and 3.mixed with some sour cream for a wet burrito "gravy". I used 4 big serranos and it was just right for me and lacking a little heat for my husband. This'll be my 'go to' recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yummy - not the best hot sauce ever, but I was so pleased I'll put it in the pantheon of 5-star recipes. This was only the second time I'd ever cooked with tomatillos, and (I think) the first time I'd ever used serrano peppers. I made this exactly as written, while cutting the "salt, to taste" down to 1 T. instead of 2 - that sounded like way too much. Also, I used a middling cooking time of 25 minutes. Hardly any water cooked off, and though it was unstated, I drained the vegetables after cooking (but saved about 2 T. of the cooking water to add to the blender). I was happy that this made a decently hot (but not blazing) salsa, and that it had a decent thickness. I may just make this again soon - it was so easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States