Green Hot Sauce (Salsa Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Saw this recipe this morning. I made it this afternoon. I just had a couple of spoonfuls right after I blended it. It was still hot, but I have a theory. Anything good hot will be good cold. I know there are exceptions like oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Great salsa! For a different spin on it, try oven broiling the tomatillos, peppers, onion and garlic until slightly charred. Then puree. I usually add some chopped fresh cilantro and a couple squeezes of lime juice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is my salsa verde. I noticed the amount of water need in this recipe is missing, you should start with 1 cup of water, it shoud be absorbed by the time the tomatillos are golden brown. Also some people like to add 1 bunch of chopped cilantro, and a squeeze of lime. But I like mine just how it is. Also if you want a smoother version you could put it through the strainer after you blend it to get the seeds out. Also if you dont want it that spicy you can use different chilies. Jalapenos work well. Also, do not drain the water, it should be mostly absorbed by the time your tomatillos are browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was delicious. It made quite a bit, and since I was the only one eating it, I had quite a bit left over, even after a couple of days of snacking. I added the remaining salsa to chili I made later in the week, and my husband loved it. I also roasted the tomatillos, over my gas burner, to add smoky flavor to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Simple and good. I did use less serrano peppers for kidlet's sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
great and simple salsa verde! the only regret i have is that i didn't scale up the size from the original recipe. warning: once you start eating this, it's almost impossible to stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I can't believe I made something this good and authentic tasting and it was so EASY. A huge hit with my entire family! I also mixed it into other dishes to boost their flavor and it worked wonderfully! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent flavor! However, if it's not eaten within a few hours, it gets hotter and hotter! Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good hot sauce!!! A great change from making red sauce and we loved it! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I wish I'd had fresh cilantro, as I like what it adds. Used less serranos (scared of them!) and added the optional lime juice. I don't know if it was the tomatillos or the optional lime juice or what, but I wound up having to add some sweetener to take out some of slight sour taste. My tomatillos were not prime, either, so that may have been it. This was much easier than previous salsa verde recipes I've made where I had to roast the onions, garlic & peppers, and to me tasted just the same. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States