Green Hot Sauce (Salsa Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. My store did not have serranos, so I used 2 fresh jalapenos, removed the seeds and pith. I used less salt at the beginning, but then found after I blended the ingredients it was too acidic and added more salt to cut down the acid. I did not need any of the cooking liquid, I strained the ingredients before blending. It was not spicy enough for me, so I added about a tablespoon of pickled jalapenos and a splash of the juice from that jar and blended that. This was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I made the recipe as written, & I thought it was bland & salty. That's why I'm giving it 3 Stars as written. Maybe it's b/c I'm Mexican, so I've tasted a lot of salsa since I was a young child. I add it to almost anything! But this salsa wasn't spicy. It was salty and that's not the way salsa should be, correct me if I'm wrong. However, I thought it had potential, & after the changes I made, it's now a 5 in my house. I make it quite often. Here are the changes: I use 18 serrano chile peppers, 2 Jalapenos, about 3/4 cup of cilantro, garlic stays the same except I add it when I blend the veggies (the amount of onion & tomatillos also remains the same), and I definitely did not add 2 TBS of salt(Unless you like salty salsa)! That is crazy! I added 1 TEASPOON of salt WHILE I blended all the ingredients. I was much more satisfied with the salsa after I made the changes. Oh, after the veggies are done, drain them, then blend. The recipe neglects to say that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World_Diplomat03
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe beats the one I've been using from Paula Deen's show with a Mexican woman/guest chef a few years ago, and that was a really great one. This one is the absolute best! Added one bunch of cilantro becuase I LOVE it, forgot the lime. This is the best green sauce I have ever tasted! I plan to make a larger batch and put some boneless, skinless chicken thighs in the crock pot with the sauce then shred for tacos plus lots of extra sauce on the side. You simply cannot get enough of this sauce, goes great on EVERYTHING!! I used 5 serranos the first time and it wasn't hot enough for me. If you like heat, 8 would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Great recipe! Like how easy it is to make. Except that when I tasted mine, it was a little bit too sour. I had to put in some sugar to mellow out the sourness... but I think that is just the tomatillos that I got. Overall good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yummy - not the best hot sauce ever, but I was so pleased I'll put it in the pantheon of 5-star recipes. This was only the second time I'd ever cooked with tomatillos, and (I think) the first time I'd ever used serrano peppers. I made this exactly as written, while cutting the "salt, to taste" down to 1 T. instead of 2 - that sounded like way too much. Also, I used a middling cooking time of 25 minutes. Hardly any water cooked off, and though it was unstated, I drained the vegetables after cooking (but saved about 2 T. of the cooking water to add to the blender). I was happy that this made a decently hot (but not blazing) salsa, and that it had a decent thickness. I may just make this again soon - it was so easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I wasn't sure how much water to use so I did as instructed, enough water to cover. I found this seemed to be too much, after simmering there seemed to be too much liquid -maybe i cooked too long i dont know. Anyway, no problem, I scooped the mixture out with a slotted soon and kept the liquid in the pan incase needed. After blending, I decided the salsa was perfect consistency without the water so poured it away. I also used jalapeno peppers, sliced with the seed and pith removed in place of serranos -husband likes it hot! I also added in 3 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro before chilling, the recipe made enough to fill a 1 lb or 10 oz spagetti jar, that is what i am storing it in. If you do remember to wear gloves! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was my first experience cooking with tomatillos so I wanted a nice and easy recipe. I liked this a lot but I found the salt (only added 1 tbls) to be overpowering. I made a second batch because I have everything available from my garden and omitted the salt and combined the two batches - perfection! Also used a combination of jalapenos and serranos and added the juice of a lime. Thanks, SB, for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
love this recipe made it several times.....added cilantro..... also some lime....would continue making this recipe....last several times remembered the recipe from memory....made 1 time and I remembered it.....great on fajitas....thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Love this! I add a tablespoon or so of white wine vinegar which gives it a kick I really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
very good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muñeca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States