Green Goddess Dressing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I know that some of you think I shouldn't rate this a 5 because I did change it a bit - but it was such a good starting place and the changes were minor: cut back on the anchovies, and didn't have tarragon vinegar, so used white wine vinegar and added 1/2 tsp dried tarragon. My husband and I were reintroduced to Green Goddess at a new restaurant in town that highlights 40s and 50-style restaurant food - baked ham, great steaks (peppered steak with brandy sauce), wonderful meatloaf, Stroganoff - the kinds of food I remember being on the menu when my folks took us to "fancy" restaurants, but "kicked up" for the new century. Anyway, we tried the Green Goddess, and my husband was hooked - and this one is better than at the restaurant. Can't wait until summer so I can use fresh tarragon from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This is an excellent, easy recipe for those who like a good garlic/scallion flavor to their dressing. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Very good! It was exactly the taste I was looking for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
So sad that I could not find tarragon vinegar or fresh or dried tarragon so I just used White Wine vinegar. I only used 1/3 a cup because the first time I made it I felt it was too bitter. I added another garlic and used 1 1/2 of the green onions. Also I only used 1 anchovy as they were extra fishy. I love anchovies and the more the better but these were just not that great.. I have to say with all that it was still amazing and delicious. I used Mayo light and you can't even tell the difference.. I live in South Africa and have a all girl get together tomorrow I can't wait for my girlfriends taste my Green Goddess YAY thank you so much.. It is also always better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trouble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
An excellent Green Goddess, not too harsh with the scallions like some of them are, and I used the fresh tarragon with white vinegar mentioned by another user instead of tarragon vinegar--I had fresh tarragon leftover from another recipe, so why waste it? I didn't have any problems with the anchovies being salty, but I soaked them for an hour in a couple of cups each of water and white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was incredible! Maybe the best dressing i've ever had. Thanks for the new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Somma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Served this over caesar salad...very strong but tasty! Good for garlic and onion lovers at least, will possibly try it in a pasta salad next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Excellant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is the first time I'd tried this dressing. Really great...similar to a caeser, but, better in my opinion. Very tart, garlicky and oniony. I think you can leave out the salt though, as the anchovies are salty enough. Thanks, I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was such a hit at a party last night, they told me I should bottle and sell it! Only change was substituting 1/2 cup white balsamic vinegar for the two other ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States