Green Goddess Dressing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe is amzingly easy & delicious. I used low fat yogurt to cut down on the fat. All I can say is WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This was the ultimate. Surprisingly, I had no fresh ingredients (other than lemon), and it still turned out fabulous. I opted to use Penzey's Fox Point seasoning to replace the major ingredients (shallots, garlic, onions, etc.). I also opted to use 1/2 mayo, 1/2 sour cream, and the tangy contrast to the lemon was great. Can't wait to make this 100% fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Made this for a big family gathering, everyone loved it and its consistency. I thought it was too runny. I will hand blend in the mayo next time to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I was excited by this recipe but was terribly disappointed. Parsley being a very bland but the primary flavor made the only dominant flavor fish. I used half the anchovies, but still, that is all I tasted. My husband and I opted to throw the whole batch away. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
An excellent Green Goddess, not too harsh with the scallions like some of them are, and I used the fresh tarragon with white vinegar mentioned by another user instead of tarragon vinegar--I had fresh tarragon leftover from another recipe, so why waste it? I didn't have any problems with the anchovies being salty, but I soaked them for an hour in a couple of cups each of water and white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Excellant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I know that some of you think I shouldn't rate this a 5 because I did change it a bit - but it was such a good starting place and the changes were minor: cut back on the anchovies, and didn't have tarragon vinegar, so used white wine vinegar and added 1/2 tsp dried tarragon. My husband and I were reintroduced to Green Goddess at a new restaurant in town that highlights 40s and 50-style restaurant food - baked ham, great steaks (peppered steak with brandy sauce), wonderful meatloaf, Stroganoff - the kinds of food I remember being on the menu when my folks took us to "fancy" restaurants, but "kicked up" for the new century. Anyway, we tried the Green Goddess, and my husband was hooked - and this one is better than at the restaurant. Can't wait until summer so I can use fresh tarragon from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was incredible! Maybe the best dressing i've ever had. Thanks for the new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Somma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I think this is a basically good recipe with great potential but it was WAY too fishy tasting. Next time I'll try using only one can (or maybe even half a can) of anchovies instead. I agree with a previous reviewer that it doesn't need the added salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
my first Green Goddess recipe, and I thought it was delicious! (not sure if 'authentic', but certainly delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States