Green Eggs and Ham Breakfast Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Very good. Better way is to place filling into a tortilla and add some salsa and/or chopped tomatoes. The little can of chopped green chili peppers, drained, works well. You can also sub petite diced ham for the bacon. I use butter instead of olive oil. MMMmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Delicious!! I saw this recipe and made it without making a trip to the store. I cut down the fat grams by making my own biscuits with lower fat Bisquick and used turkey bacon. I used Pam spray olive oil and omitted the jalepenos. I used the canned diced green chilies, as was also suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Because I coupon, I always have refrigerated biscuits on hand. This was an excellent way to use them! I made only two small changes--instead of jalapeno peppers and roasted green chili peppers (because I do not have either), I used one 4 oz. can mild diced chilies. I just wisked it into the eggs before I added them to the skillet. I also sauteed a mess of fresh minced garlic in with the onion. The boys loved this. NOTE: What I did to make the eggs a little easier to handle inside the biscuits, I basically cooked the eggs into a thick.......circle? Think omelette but not folded. Once it got firm, I turned it and cooked the other side, sprinkling the cheese over the top. This way, I just had to slide it from the skillet, cool it a bit, then cut it into triangles with a pizza cutter. Wa-la, egg that won't fall out of your biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Good Good Good make sure you take the seeds out of the peppers and jalapeno if you dont like things to spicy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I put this concoction in a flour tortilla, rolled up like a Chimichangas and grilled it on the griddle to melt the cheese. It was so good. Hubby dipped his in salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
MMMMMM....loved this stuff! I too used canned green chiles and instead of the biscuit I put the eggs into a heated tortilla. YUMMO; nice and spicey!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I made this on Christmas morning for my fiance. I didn't have bacon on hand, so I used cooked crumbled sausage; I also couldn't find extra large biscuit dough, so I bought a container of regular Pillsbury biscuit dough. After sauteeing the vegetables, I added the cooked sausage to the pan before pouring the eggs; the end result was a nicely set scrambled egg mixture that had just the right amount of kick. These made great mini sandwiches! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was pretty good, when made using other reviewers advice. Guess what? In case you are confused, bacon is NOT ham! Same animal, different cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
You'll have "death breath" for days, but it's worth it. Used veggie bacon instead of the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Yum! Followed Breeze's recommendations and also crumbled the bacon, and added last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States