Green Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Sometimes I start with step 3, and only make the sauce. It is great served over microwave-steamed veggies and rice. Super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADub311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yum! This is a terrific recipe and tastes just like the curry tofu you get in Thai restaurants! I followed the recipe almost exactly as listed with the addition of green and yellow bell pepper strips. I added more milk/curry paste to compensate for the added veggies. This is a recipe that lends itself really well to additions - eggplant cubes and cooked onion strips would also be nice. Depending on the curry paste you buy and how much spiciness you like, you may need to adjust the quantity you add to the milk. Thanks, Janet, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Awesome! I love this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyward555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
It was really good and easy to make. I did add sauted garlic and onions to the conconut milk while it was boiling, which adding flavor and texture. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I made many modifications. I used broth instead of water. I used wide lomein noodles instead of rice. I omitted the sesame oil. I added 1 teaspoon salt. I only used 1/2 tablespoon of curry paste (and it was still wayyyy hot). My coconut milk was 14 oz. I added 2 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1/4 cup fresh chopped basil, 1 sliced zuchinni, 1 cup bean sprouts, and 1 cup snow peas. Directions: Bring broth, coconut milk, sugar, salt to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer 15 minutes. Add vegetables and tofu and simmer another 10-15 minutes. Serve over noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
The only things I did differently with this recipe was use already-made store-bought Thai yellow curry sauce (instead of making my own green curry sauce), which already had coconut milk as its base and is (of course) yellow, and I used brown jasmine rice instead of basmati rice. It was okay, but if I make it again it won't be for a long time. I think 3 stars is the best rating to give for this recipe. If I try it again with green curry, I'll see if it tastes any better. But for now, 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I think this is a nice, simple recipe. I had the most trouble frying the tofu because it kept sticking to the bottom of the pan. Maybe using a non-stick pan would work better next time. I did include a little bit of sugar, like others have suggested. I also think that you could potentially add vegetable for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I thought this recipe was pretty good, especially for being so simple. I had all of the ingredients on hand already, so I liked that. I thought it was pretty spicy (which I love), but without a whole lot of other flavor, so I was going to give it a 3. However, my fiance loved the recipe and said to give it a 5, so I went in the middle and gave it a 4. I think it would be a little better if there were a few veggies in it (like bell peppers, potatoes, or carrots, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Not all green curry paste has shrimp (mine didn't), so whether or not this recipe is suitable for vegetarians actually depends on the brand. I thought this recipe was very good and easy to adjust to taste. The tofu was great - I put aside some for snacking on its own. The dish has a simple taste until the delayed heat from the green curry kicks in. After tasting the curry sauce, I also added a little peanut butter and brown sugar, and threw in some potato and zucchini as well. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Green curry paste has shrimp in them so it is not suitable for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States