Green Curry Thai for Kings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
love it, just be careful with the green curry it gets spicy very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Delicious meal, and easy and fast to make. I had a hard time finding the right "thai" fish sauce, but all the effort paid off. A family favourite for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
excellent!! I wouldn't change a thing. I served it with sliced cucumber to clense the palet and cool down between bites, I also used jasmine rice because I prefer it to ordinary rice. It was a welcome addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Great thai curry flavour, but the vegetables didn't seem to blend into it nicely and detracted from the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I've made green curry lots of times using Thai paste, coconut milk, an onion and maybe some vegs and hoped this recipe would give it restaurant quality. Didn't happen, I actually added about 21/2 Tbsp Thai Green Curry paste and still it wasn't hot. Fish sauce was a good idea, thank you. On the whole it was pleasant, satisfying but a bit lacking something and I think just reading the instructions on the paste can can give very similar results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was pretty good, and pretty easy to make. I made it with pork instead of chicken, and it turned out great, though I'd recommend cooking the pork in a separate wok first, with the garlic & oil. I also added potatoes to this, which I think worked out great, just make sure you boil the potatoes first to even out the cooking time. I'm not a fan of eating bits of ginger, so I put in 5 very large slices, and fished them out later. I also used fish sauce instead of salt, much more authentic. And I'm confused by previous reviewsthat said they had to cut down on the spiciness; this was actually very mild curry, by any standard (wusses! LOL... either that or a huge variation in different brands of prepared green curry pastes). I had to add in some fresh chopped hot peppers & ground pepper to really get it going. I'm not a frequent cook, so it was a welcome relief to have such a simple recipe turn out so good; made lots and shared with others in my building, who loved it too; and then froze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly, but I wasn't too excited by the results. It was tasty enough and easy to make, but it didn't come close to the richness and complexity of green curries in Thai restaurants. Granted, I've been spoiled because I've always lived near excellent Thai restaurants, but I've never found a green curry recipe that comes close to approaching restaurant quality -- this one included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Pretty good. I'd cut down on the paste and add some oyster sauce for flavor. I'd also skip the salt and use fish liver oil instead which is what they use at thai resturants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
The best thai curry I've ever made. This works with red curry paste as well as green curry paste. The only change I made is using fish sauce instead of salt. The basil adds such a fresh flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
my husband likes HOT. i toned down to 1 tbsp of green curry (shrimp free)with a small extra squeeze, and it was very hot, to me. he was left with a gentle tingle and probably would have enjoyed the full extra half TBSP, so those with high heat tolerance take note. i added a tin of bamboo shoots, and used the light version of cocomilk. dieters alert: lite coco milk saves about 70 cals per portion and more than 8 grams of fat. this was nice with basmati rice. good recipe, my first ever curry. two cleaned plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States