Green Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I love this recipe, but I make some modifications. I use chicken breasts instead of legs. Cut up and sear the chicken pieces. I also change out the veggies - I don't love eggplant. Use veggies that won't get soggy, like a mixture of carrots, potatoes, green beans, broccoli, variety of peppers, asparagus, etc. You can substitute ginger powder for the fresh ginger if needed, but I prefer the fresh. Once this is done cooking and ready to serve I add either sour cream OR greek yogurt (add either to taste) to the sauce and heat just enough to serving temperature - - - it helps slightly with the flavor and makes it a lot less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this tonight for my family of four including a picky 5 year old and 1 year old - everyone liked it. I only added one jalapeño so it wouldn't be too hot for the kids. I couldn't find McCormick's red curry powder, so I used a tablespoon of red curry paste (Mae Ploy brand), and I didn't add any basil leaves. For veg, I used 2 white potatoes, a can of baby corn, brown mushrooms and sliced red pepper. I used cane sugar, just because. I'll make this again, the sauce is such a good base. I served it with jasmine rice. I think next time I'll use chicken breast or chicken thighs. Just a preference, because even after crisping it, it ended up soggy in the final product and I don't enjoy picking skin out of my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was very good!I used 2 jalapenos because I was concerned it would be to hot for my kids. It was perfect for them and the hubby really liked it too. We had it on brown rice, next time I will use Basmati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackfam5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
this was very good and very versatile.. cut the recipe in half and used 2 thighs and 3 drumsticks.. didn't have eggplant or sweet potato so used broccoli and carrots instead.. used all Silk coconut milk for the canned coconut milk and the water.. had to use jarred garlic and dried ginger.. lemon for lime.. omitted the brown sugar and added two cups of chicken broth.. the end result was a very delicious soup.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ayk
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was the best recipes I've made from this site. Amazing!!! We love the green curry beef from the local Thai place and we've been craving it. Well, no need to crave again. I followed the recipe pretty much all the way except: I used 4 legs and 4 thighs (still had plenty of sauce), my store didn't have Thai basil so I had to use regular. What I'd change: we like it spicy so I'm going to leave the seeds in 1 or 2 of the jalapeños, more ginger (I wish the amount noted in the recipe was more specific) I'd change nothing else. The sweet potato and eggplant were delightful. I'm going to try this with beef next time. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
i would use less water next time.. did not have the red chili so uses some chili flakes.. sauce was good made brown rice on the side.. my brother and dad really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
It was definitely good but not amazing. This might be because I used red chilli paste instead of red chilli powder, which apparently have very different tastes. Also I put zucchini instead of eggplant since my boyfriend doesn't like eggplant, not sure if that changed the flavouring too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Excelente loved it I think this would also be good with lamb or goat. It has a caribbean feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe. Have made coconut curries many times before, but this was particularly good. I used skinless thighs to reduce the fat. I also used coconut oil to fry them in beforehand. I chose green beans for the veg and they were great. I also used a popular curry paste. Making it again tonight. I will be using a green curry paste this time. And cod and shrimp instead of chicken. I will also include Sweet potato with the green beans. Because we like it hot, and the kiddo does not, I make the curry sauce saving about a cup. I blend this with the jalapeños and heat in a small pan separately. When serving we just add a big spoonful of this superheated sauce for heat and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC flavor! Took longer than 25 min on prep time. So next time I'm going to triple the recipe and freeze! My husband couldn't stop eating it. Next time skin needs to come off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States