Green Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I brought this to a pot luck and had mass raves! The hostess, who claimed to hate cilantro, loved it the most!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I served this with a beef curry dish along with Indian spiced cabbage and chickpea curry. It complemented all three wonderfully! The brilliant green color also dressed up the plate. Thanks for a unique way of adding cilantro to an Indian dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
What a fun chutney for a change! Great with curry! I really liked this, it was a terrific splash of color for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Green chutney is simply the best. I have my variations of this: only garlic or only ginger - not both. I prefer it without peanuts. I do add a little of unsweetened grated coconut to give this chutney some body from time to time. A few mint leaves also enhance the flavor. I also add 1/4 tsp of sugar. I love to smother my toast with this chutney and it gives me a welcome and spicy break from all the sweet breakfast dishes like pancakes, cereals, etc. You may want to avoid this if it has garlic though!! Great recipe! As for kids: only Indian and Mexican kids and kids from countries where the cuisine is normally fairly spicy will venture near this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
We love Indian food and have recently begun experimenting with recipes at home. This green chutney recipe has the authentic taste we want to balance out the other Indian dishes we like to serve. And it really is easy to make. I do think adding a little sugar and fresh mint, such as one reviewer suggested, produces a good flavor balance and also have tried both fresh peanuts and peanut butter. (I think the peanut butter is better, maybe because it blends better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is a really good recipe! My husband tasted the chutney before dinner and decided at that point that "dinner is going to be good tonight". Only thing I did differently was roasted the peanuts in a skillet with a little bit of oil or ghee. I would only recommend this if you are using raw peanut (not pre-roasted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
No kids to test it on, but I doubt they would be very taken with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
What a delightful chutney-served it with papadams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
My husband has been yearning for this sauce since our local Indian restaurant closed. I substituted natural peanut butter for the peanuts and lime juice for lemon. This is great with the Naan recipe on this site. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Tasty and colorful. I served it with chickpea curry (the recipe is also on allrecipes.com). I had a small problem with getting the chutney out of my blender, but other than it was no fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States