Green Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have better luck using my blender than food processor for this- it gives it a finer, more even chop. Also, I forego the peanuts and add a few sprigs of mint. Tastes so fresh and especially delicious with warm naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I made as directed with a few minor changes: instead of the hot green chile I used 1/4 of a seeded finely diced jalapeño. (if I were having friends over who couldn't take much heat, I might reduce the jalapeño even further). The peanuts are probably not necessary...but I had some on hand so I tossed them in. And I used 2 cloves of garlic. Once everything was blended I noticed it didn't look "right"...looked more like a pesto than a sauce...so I added about 1/4 to 1/3 c of sour cream. It was AMAZING! We spread on those extra thin Indian cracker/bread things (Papadam??) along with the red and brown sauces the Indian restaurants serve as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I did half cilantro, half mint, two green chilies, no peanuts, lime juice instead of lemon and no peanuts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is an amazing sauce. My peppers weren't that spicy so I used 2 instead of 1 and I used lime juice in addition to lemon juice. I've been putting it on sandwiches and it's great. This one will repeat in my kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
YUM! This chutney is amazing. I did leave out the peanuts & add mint as several other people suggested, mainly because I was trying to recreate a chutney that I had tried at an excellent Indian restaurant recently. At first I didn't think this one was as good, but my guests raved about it. Then the next day I tasted it again - WOW, so tasty. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soooz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
tasty and easy to throw together. everyone liked it -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I don't want to rate this as I think I did something wrong- It was too runny and didn't taste good. Is it possible to overprocess this cilantro? It was very soupy. I also didn't taste much cilantro, all I could taste was ginger. I did add the 1/4 tsp sugar and some mint, all to no avail. It ended up in the disposal this time. Any help would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was great - who knew making this stuff was so easy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
YUM! I didn't add the peanuts, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I wish I had doubled it though - you would be suprised how small one bunch of cilantro chops down to. I didn't have a problem with too little liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States