Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
yummy! my boyfriend said he could eat this everyday. I added flour at the end to make it thicker. Its definetly a keeper. Thanks Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I really enjoy good stew and this is a fantastic alternative for variety. This is so good because the ingredients are nicely balanced. I like spicy foods but I think too much would spoil the already robust flavor. I take it as part of the characteristic of this stew that it is thinner brothed than most people might anticipate but I personally would not change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Excellent flavor and at last something new in the stew department! I used diced tomatoes with jalapenos as we like things really spicy. Also doubled green chilies, lots of fresh garlic and used about 6 potatoes for my hubby. Will make this often this winter - Thank you Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This stew is delicious. I brought leftovers to work and people were commenting on how good the stew smelled. I told them I'd bring the recipe in the next day. The stew is simple to make. I use top sirloin (instead of beef stew meat) cut into small pieces. I also just used one big russet potato, it's plenty. This is a wonderful recipe that I will make often. JS, Alamogordo NM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I made this stew using pork as someone else had recommended. I also used 1 1/2 cans of chopped green chilis as I was using up some from another recipe. I could have put 2 in as my family loves traditional "green chili" and this was very similar in taste when using pork. I added a pinch of ground chipotle seasoning which gave it a little bite and used more broth than called for as my potatoes were large. We loved this recipe and I am sure we will make it all winter long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I cubed beef and threw all ingredients in the crock pot (except oil) and slow cooked for 8-10 hours. Very easy and delicious. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Very good. A good change of pace from the old carrots and potato stew. I added more diced tomatoes - 10 oz just wasn't enough....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Green chili stew is a very popular dish in New Mexico which is where I grew up. I make this easy stew on Christmas Eve (slow cooked in a crock-pot for 6-8 hours). The level of desired spicyiness will vary for different people. Canned green chili is too mild for my taste. For those who prefer spicier green chili, I recommend www.buenofoods.com - a popular New Mexico chili retailer. You can also choose to make a milder stew and serve extra green chili on the side so people can adjust the spicyness. I highly recommend you try this stew - it will warm your bones on a cold winter's day. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Excellent authentic flavor! I only had 1 lb. stew meat and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Very good recipe. I prefer pork, so I cubed a small pork roast and browned with the onions and some garlic. Also, I use chicken broth instead of beef, about 3 to 4 cans depending on size of roast and the amount of potatoes. If you have access to a farmers market that offers roasted green chilis I highly recommend using those instead of canned (takes about 6 to 8 large ones). Fall is the season for roasted green chilis but aren't available in all areas of the country. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States