Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
This was a delicious stew/soup. The s in my family went nuts for this recipe. This is something I will include in my monthly menu, I can't say enough about it! t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
THIS WAS PRETTY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This stew is delicious. I brought leftovers to work and people were commenting on how good the stew smelled. I told them I'd bring the recipe in the next day. The stew is simple to make. I use top sirloin (instead of beef stew meat) cut into small pieces. I also just used one big russet potato, it's plenty. This is a wonderful recipe that I will make often. JS, Alamogordo NM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Very good. A good change of pace from the old carrots and potato stew. I added more diced tomatoes - 10 oz just wasn't enough....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
yummy! my boyfriend said he could eat this everyday. I added flour at the end to make it thicker. Its definetly a keeper. Thanks Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Excellent authentic flavor! I only had 1 lb. stew meat and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I cubed beef and threw all ingredients in the crock pot (except oil) and slow cooked for 8-10 hours. Very easy and delicious. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Very good recipe. I prefer pork, so I cubed a small pork roast and browned with the onions and some garlic. Also, I use chicken broth instead of beef, about 3 to 4 cans depending on size of roast and the amount of potatoes. If you have access to a farmers market that offers roasted green chilis I highly recommend using those instead of canned (takes about 6 to 8 large ones). Fall is the season for roasted green chilis but aren't available in all areas of the country. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Green chili stew is a very popular dish in New Mexico which is where I grew up. I make this easy stew on Christmas Eve (slow cooked in a crock-pot for 6-8 hours). The level of desired spicyiness will vary for different people. Canned green chili is too mild for my taste. For those who prefer spicier green chili, I recommend www.buenofoods.com - a popular New Mexico chili retailer. You can also choose to make a milder stew and serve extra green chili on the side so people can adjust the spicyness. I highly recommend you try this stew - it will warm your bones on a cold winter's day. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I really enjoy good stew and this is a fantastic alternative for variety. This is so good because the ingredients are nicely balanced. I like spicy foods but I think too much would spoil the already robust flavor. I take it as part of the characteristic of this stew that it is thinner brothed than most people might anticipate but I personally would not change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States