Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This had just the BEST flavor. Had to change the recipe a bit for what we had on hand. We had whole pig on the spit to use up. Guessing about the amount used but thinking more than 2#. Used 8 Anaheim peppers, roasted, peeled, coarsley cut. Used 2 t. minced garlic and 1 t. salt, 1/2 t. pepper, 1 1/2 t. cumin, 28oz. (yellow) tomatoes and 4 c. water w/ 4 T. chicken soup base (extra water because wanted extra potatoes). Chunked 4 medium potatoes then thickened w/ 1/4 c. flour and water at the end. We are true pork lovers so I think I'll always make it with pork but when the "real pig" runs out, maybe I'll add some liquid smoke to store-bought. I live where there is lots of Green Chili Stew around and definitely eaten my share. This is absolutely the best. The flavor just rules! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I love stew and this one is ok. I followed the recipe exactly but I didn't get the over the top reaction that others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Loved it, next time I'll add a little more stew tomatoes, but it was very good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JURADO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
A hearty recipe that I enjoyed. I spiced it up a bit, because we like it hot here in Arizona. I was suprised at how flavorful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Love this recipe! The only thing I added to it was a dash of Taco Bell Mild Taco Sauce. I also put this together in the crock pot after browning the meat with onions, and it made for a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This is wonderful. I added mushrooms and carrots and a few dashes of red wine vinnegar and it turned out great. I browned the meat, and then cooked it all in a crock pot. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This was a great recipe. I realized I didn't have any potatoes so I left them out. It didn't matter. This dish was tasty and will be a welcomed addition to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My in-laws went ballistic over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This is so good. It has a comforting heat to it. Not like your mouth's on fire, but you can feel the heat. I used 2-1/2 pounds of meat and pulled 1/2 pound out before I added the potatoes. I cut up this meat and used it to make quesadillas. I would have added some tabasco for extra heat. Serve with your favorite heated tortillas. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This was just ok. Plenty of flavor, but lacking something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States