Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I 'accidentally' overcooked this, and it turned out fabulous! Now I always do it this way ... cook ALL the broth off, then deglaze the pan with another can of seasoned beef broth (and sometimes I add a little red wine) and cook it down again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Excellent. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I prefer pork instead of beef with green chili. I also use posole instead of potatotes in a 'stew' variation. I place it in the slow cooker overnight; using lots of garlic, and onions. The next morning I add the cumin and oregano, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Wonderful flavor! Thanks for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was very good. It needed a little more spice so I added a little more cayenne pepper. Will definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This had just the BEST flavor. Had to change the recipe a bit for what we had on hand. We had whole pig on the spit to use up. Guessing about the amount used but thinking more than 2#. Used 8 Anaheim peppers, roasted, peeled, coarsley cut. Used 2 t. minced garlic and 1 t. salt, 1/2 t. pepper, 1 1/2 t. cumin, 28oz. (yellow) tomatoes and 4 c. water w/ 4 T. chicken soup base (extra water because wanted extra potatoes). Chunked 4 medium potatoes then thickened w/ 1/4 c. flour and water at the end. We are true pork lovers so I think I'll always make it with pork but when the "real pig" runs out, maybe I'll add some liquid smoke to store-bought. I live where there is lots of Green Chili Stew around and definitely eaten my share. This is absolutely the best. The flavor just rules! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I love stew and this one is ok. I followed the recipe exactly but I didn't get the over the top reaction that others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Loved it, next time I'll add a little more stew tomatoes, but it was very good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JURADO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
A hearty recipe that I enjoyed. I spiced it up a bit, because we like it hot here in Arizona. I was suprised at how flavorful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Love this recipe! The only thing I added to it was a dash of Taco Bell Mild Taco Sauce. I also put this together in the crock pot after browning the meat with onions, and it made for a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States