Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Awesome! I used pork and chicken broth ... then followed the recipe almost to the letter with the exception of adding an extra can of green chili! I used extra hot rotel and it does have some kick! Spicy and nice! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTAYLOR063

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was excellent! My husband and I have listed this as a personal favorite. I forwarded it to my Mother and it is now a family favorite! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
The only reason I didn't give this five stars is because I use this recipe with fake ground beef (vegetarian). Other than that, it is excellent! It is a delicious stew, especially if you are familiar with New Mexican green chili recipes. As someone who lived in Albuquerque for 6 years and still craves and misses the dishes now that I'm in NY state, this dish serves as a welcome memory. It's warm, spicey, and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Nyack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is pretty good as is but the second time I made a few changes: Added a can of corn, used chicken broth instead of beef, and omitted the tomatoes and just used a can of mild green chilies. Sometimes I add bacon sliced up and brown it with onions. My husband really likes this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jj_howell27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntley, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
My family and I love this recipe! I change it a bit, I use pork and chicken stock. I add coriander and garlic powder (sometimes oregano) as well. For garnishes, we use sour cream, avocado, and I bake corn tortilla strips that I've tossed w/a bit of oil and salt to add something crunchy. Haven't tried it but some cilantro at the end would probably be excellent in here. Awesome as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This was good and I will make again with pork or chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I used pork loin as I think it goes so well with green chile. Like others, I made this in my slow cooker so I omitted the oil. I used 14 oz frozen green chile (with liquid) so I reduced the broth to 1/4 c. I didn't add tomatoes or potatoes for dietary reasons, but did add about two cloves minced garlic. This is very similar to the way I usually make my green chile meat, but I usually don't add cumin. I'll definitely be adding it from now on. Thanks Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was really good. Makes a yummy burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I love this recipe and have been making this for years. Since my husband loves spicy taste I used a can of tomato with habanero pepper this time. I also cooked in a crock pot. He LOVED it! I did,too! Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was a great base for green chile stew. We love green chiles so I added an additional can of green chiles. I didn't think it called for enough broth - i ended up using around 3 cups. A new fave in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States