Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was OK for us. It needed to cook a lot longer than the recipe stated. In fact, I think it would be a good one for the slow cooker. It tasted fine, but the meat was still a little tough. Didn't taste any thing like the green chili stew I have gotten in NM. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Great! I added in canned beans, such as black, pinto and garbonzo beans. Made it yummy and beans are good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri1104

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Easily adaptable recipe - wonderful base, but needs adjustments to personal preference. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Coskey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very good recipe. Added more cumin and chilis though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This will be come a staple in our house. Gracias, Lynn. I made it mostly as submitted here, just added a piece of pepper bacon to simmer with the stew and I doubled the amount of cumin and included some mild red chile powder along with a pinch of Mexican oregano. I scrubbed the potatoes well and left the skins on before cubing them. This is a great recipe because not only does it taste really good and is easy to prepare, but you could add extra to it, dress it up with grated cheese on top, serve with tortillas, cornbread etc.; it's just great to be able to make a satisfying dish with all needed ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Added 1/2 bag of corn. Ran out of time so skipped the potatoes (would add some Yukon Gold chunks next time). We came home from a movie to this simmering and ready to eat. We really liked this! I added green Tabasco at the table, YUM! Will play with extra spices next time. And there WILL be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEPUFFY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've been looking for a good green chili stew since leaving New Mexico a few years ago. This is easy to make and very good. It definitely brings back memories of NM in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was very flavorful and easy to make. Based on other reviews I was not expecting this to be spicy at all but it did have a bite to it and I was hesitant to give it to my 18 month old. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding an additional can of regular diced tomatoes since the can of tom with chilis I had were petite cut. Will make again and maybe try with Pork next time. Thanks! P.S. Made a 2nd time with diced Pork Loin and added a can of corn and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I added corn, green beans, cilantro, used ground turkey instead of beef. I also used fresh green chilies I roasted. I threw everything in a crockpot for 6 hrs. It was great and very healthy. Even with the 6 large chilies I used it wasnt very spicy next time I might use a little jalapeno to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was really good, but I made some alterations. We used 4 butterfly pork chops cubed instead of beef. Cooked it all in a crockpot for about 5 hrs, adding the potatoes about 1.5 hrs. before ready time. I put in 2 cans of Rotel with Lime and Cilantro. 2 cups beef broth. 1/2 can chopped jalapenos and 2 cans green chilis...oh and a can of Pinto beans. Also added 1 tsp. of oregano. My first go round I used the potatoes, but for some reason I decided to try the 2nd day with rice. I picked out the big chunks of potatoes and added some rice and it was wonderful. Next time I will substitute rice for potatoes. This is definitely better the 2nd day. The jalapenos kicked up the spice a notch, so be careful. I absolultely love spicy food and had we added an entire can of chopped jalapenos, we would have been in trouble. Highly recommend this one though and it's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States