Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe to try if you've never made Green Chili Stew before. I did make mine with ground beef rather than beef stew meat or pork and used fresh roasted green chili (living in NM has it's advantages when it comes to getting authentic ingredients for this one!) that I purchased from Sunflower Market. A little tweaking of the spices to suit my personal tastes - I like a lot of garlic - fresh tortillas from a local establishment and we were in total green chili bliss! Suffice it to say I won't really need to be buying from local restaurants as I have found something just as good, if not better! Thanks for posting a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Made this the other night. The only difference I used fresh green chiles and canned tomatoes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eustace, Texas, USA
Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good! I like to use 7oz of green chiles just because I like it really spicy. Sometimes, I'll add corn to it too..but it's good with or without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
So great! I added worcestershire sauce and a bay leaf for flavor but left out the extra chilies. I also added carrots with the potatoes. This made it less like a Mexican stew and more like pot roast! I also added 2Tbsp. flour to thicken it up at the end. Great base recipe to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StardustSteph
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I made this for my boyfriend who is from New Mexico and was missing his childhood favorite. I have never had this before and both of us LOVED it. We had it for dinner one night and ended up making it later in the week because we loved it so much. The only changes I made was I used 2 cans of tomatoes w/ green chili peppers and 2 cans of green chili peppers. I also ended up letting it simmer after I added the potatoes for an hour to hour and half rather than 30 minutes. 5 stars! I'm going to have the rest for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StardustSteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I added fresh chili peppers and jalapeno peppers because it wasn't spicy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MediaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I did this in the slow cooker and took recommendation from another reviewer and put the potatoes in late. Was a mistake because an hour and a half later, they still weren't done. Would either leave out the potatoes or put them in at the start. Excellent flavor and my family loved it. Served with warm flour tortillas. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was quite good. Too spicy for Mike and Jessi though so follow recipie exactly next time! Lots of protein, nice flavor, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this. It was really flavorful and super easy to make. It did take an hour longer than stated for the meat to get tender which wasn't a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Really good! I use this all the time. Kind of a south american alternative to Indian curry. I added red pepper for some more heat and threw in a couple handfulls of Basmati rice during the last 20 minutes to thicken. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States