Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This stew tasted a lot like regular beef stew with a little kick to it. I doubled the green chilies, added a little extra beef broth, added a tsp. of chopped garlic, and used 3 medium-sized potatoes. I put the potatoes in 30 minutes after the stew was started and then I still had to cook it for 1 1/2 hours more to get the potatoes and meat tender. Total cooking time for me was 2 hours. I liked the stew and will probably make it again, but the next time I'll add another can of Ro-Tel tomatoes along with my other additions. My hubby thought it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Very good. Recipe deviations: 3 small potatoes, one large fresh green chili, 1/4 teaspoon Cayanne. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Fantastic stew! I make Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat the day before(substitute dried chili flakes for bottle of hot sauce), shred and add to stew recipe rather than using stew meat. It's fantastic served with warmed flour tortillas. My hispanic boyfriend and I love this stew! Thanks for sharing Lynn! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
It was okay - just not what I was looking for. Maybe I was expecting something with a kick - it was surprisingly mild. I'm glad I tried it but I'll stick with traditional beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This is a new favorite at our house - I've made it at least once a month since I first got the recipe. The original definitely needed more heat for our taste so I use some cayenne or a fresh chile pepper or two (be careful - I learned the hard way that it's difficult to judge the strength of fresh peppers!). I also like to add a can of corn to up the veggie content. Try it with the "Best-Ever Corn Muffins." They're the perfect sweet contrast to a spicy stew. Happy to see this recipe in the top ten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My husband really liked this. He is Mexican and does not like Tex-Mex food, which is what usually passes as Mexican food. He said this was just like something his mom makes, which means it's not only tasty, but also very genuinely Mexican and traditional. I added twice the amount of chopped green chiles, and added the hottest chopped tomatoes with chiles I could find. It still wasn't that hot, but it was very, very tasty and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
OK I made this into my "own" recipe but used this one as a guideline. Instead of using beef I did pork cubes so therefore I ommitted the broth. I would reccommend using about a cup of water instead. I did not use the cucim but that was because I don't care for it. I chopped two small jalapeno's and browned them with the onion and meat. I DID NOT add the potatoes. Instead of using the canned chili's I chopped fresh, about one dozen. After browing the meat and onions and jalapeno's I mixed everything in the crockpot on low for as long as I needed. It is a very good recipe! Thanks Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
WONDERFUL recipe. I made it even simpler by just throwing everything in my slow cooker and letting it cook for 2-3 hours until tender. I added the potatoes about 1/2 an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
We were expecting more from this recipe (with all the glowing reviews). It tasted all right, but I won't make it again. I took the recommendation from a previous reviewer and substituted pork cubes for the beef. I don't know if the beef would have made this recipe any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
YUM! The very best easy soup. The meat comes out tender and flaky and the soup base is savory-tart and slightly spicy. Love it and will be making it a regular at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States