Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Super easy and sooo good,my whole family LOVES it. We have this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
*****This was very good we all loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Awesome !!! We especially like this with the small (thin) French green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe. I did change it a little, browned the meat for about 15 minutes, removed. then browned the onion but also added a sliced jalapeno pepper and sliced carrots. I ended up using about 2 1/2 cups of beef broth. Instead of adding the potatoes to the broth I cooked them separately in water with about 3 cloves of garlic. Mashed the potatoes and served the stew over the mashed potatoes. It was great! Next time I will thicken the broth a little. When a recipe turns out well my husband says "Now that is company worthy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
A nice base but skip the can stuff and use fresh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This was pretty good with added garlic and a 7-pepper blend when the meat was cooking. I like soft potatoes, so I didn't feel like the potatoes were cooked enough after the full hour and a half cooking, so I extended the cooking time to 2 hours. This would probably be even better in a crock pot. My wife said it was a little warm, so I will avoid the seven pepper blend next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The broth of this stew is incredible! I lightly coated my stew meat with a flour/homemade taco seasoning mix before browning in my dutch oven. I also added ~1/4 cup of salsa verde that I needed to finish up. My only comment is that the potatoes, while needed, seem a bit out of place: a bite without potatoes tastes like a mild mexican stew - a bite with the potatoes tastes like a slightly seasoned plain beef stew. I will have to find a way to remedy this because we all really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My husband is from New Mexico and I am a NEW cook.... with that said, this is the first thing he ever asked me to make again!! We used ground beef because that's how his mom used to make it but followed every other step just as is.... this was simply amazing and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lezleena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rod_R
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Yum!!! I used fresh Anaheim green chillies ,homemade beef broth, Rotel tomatoes w/green chili & red potatoes. This is a winner on a cold winter day! Happy Eats :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States