Green Chili Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I cooked this in my crock pot for 8 hours, used 3 1/2 lbs of meat And added corn, wow my family loved it! None was left! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I had the Frontier Restaurant (Albuquerque, NM) in mind when I made the following modifications: seared small cubed meat, 3 cloves garlic & onions, let them rest & made a rue with 3 tbsp ea. oil and flour, added 1lbs peeled and chopped roasted green chiles & slowly stir in beef broth and spices, then the meat and onions. Simmer, then added small diced potatoes for the last 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Super easy and sooo good,my whole family LOVES it. We have this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedee Tapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
*****This was very good we all loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Awesome !!! We especially like this with the small (thin) French green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe. I did change it a little, browned the meat for about 15 minutes, removed. then browned the onion but also added a sliced jalapeno pepper and sliced carrots. I ended up using about 2 1/2 cups of beef broth. Instead of adding the potatoes to the broth I cooked them separately in water with about 3 cloves of garlic. Mashed the potatoes and served the stew over the mashed potatoes. It was great! Next time I will thicken the broth a little. When a recipe turns out well my husband says "Now that is company worthy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
A nice base but skip the can stuff and use fresh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This was pretty good with added garlic and a 7-pepper blend when the meat was cooking. I like soft potatoes, so I didn't feel like the potatoes were cooked enough after the full hour and a half cooking, so I extended the cooking time to 2 hours. This would probably be even better in a crock pot. My wife said it was a little warm, so I will avoid the seven pepper blend next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The broth of this stew is incredible! I lightly coated my stew meat with a flour/homemade taco seasoning mix before browning in my dutch oven. I also added ~1/4 cup of salsa verde that I needed to finish up. My only comment is that the potatoes, while needed, seem a bit out of place: a bite without potatoes tastes like a mild mexican stew - a bite with the potatoes tastes like a slightly seasoned plain beef stew. I will have to find a way to remedy this because we all really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States