Green Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Really enjoyed! Just made changes based on others' suggestions and also for fat/calorie content: used nonstick cooking spray on a 9x13" pan, used only 4 taco-sized flour tortillas, added taco seasoning packet for beef & then mixed in onions and chilis, which saves time assembling, doubled the chilis (used two 4oz cans), used only about 3c sargento shredded reduced fat mexican cheese, used campbells healthy req cream of chicken soup, and also served w/LF sour cream, tomatoes, and lettuce- fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was pretty good. I gave it 4 out of 5 because it seemed to kind of bland without some additions since we all like a lot of flavor. I did add taco seasoning to the beef, sauted the onions, and added some garlic and black olives. We topped it with all the usual taco toppings and it turned out real well. All in all a good recipe. We'll definatly have again with the additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Excellent casserole! My husband and I both enjoyed it. Oh by the way, be sure to follow the recipe and grease the casserole dish. I forgot and learned the hard way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIEGRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I am giving this 4 stars because it was easy, fast, cheap, and tasty. But it had way too much cheese. Ended up looking a lot more like cheese dip than casserole. Next time I will cut the cheese in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
My mom made this casserole my whole life. This one is just a little different (as my mom uses crushed tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas) but It's almost better than hers. I added fresh, diced jalapenos to the green chilies and added garlic and cumin to the beef mixture. I also used ground turkey instead of ground beef. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Use Pam to "grease" your casserole dish to cut back on fat. Saute the onions when you brown the hamburger meat. Add some fresh sliced jalapeno peppers. It needs a kick to it. Don't use that awful processed cheese food! Too much fat, imitation everything. Not worth buying. Use either a Mexican blend (there are low fat blends) or grate some cheddar and jack. There is a pepper jack cheese that is wonderful in this, and don't use a pound of cheese in it. Way too much! With some tweaking this dish can be turned into a four or perhaps a five star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
My family really liked this dish. I did add some garlic powder and ground cumin to it when browning the beef, and I served it along with sour cream. It even tastes better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love this! I cooked the onions with the meat. Added an extra can of green chiles and used cheddar cheese instead. Next time I may use monterey jack. I also seasoned my meat with salt, pepper and garlic powder. This needs to be doubled for a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was excellent. I cooked it a tad longer and added green sauce in addition with a bit more cheese. It got rave reviews and will be a definate do over for us or company. I topped with sliced roma tomatos and chili peppers for color that is not part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I didnt care for this at all :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States