Green Chili Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe was pretty good after some doctoring up. I sauteed some of the onions with the meat and added taco seasoning for flavor. Also added some fresh jalapeno for extra spice. My husband liked this more than I did. I prefer fresh cheese to processed cheese so that flavor was a little much me. Next time I will try half cheddar and half processed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very good as written. As I am wont to do, I substituted lots of cheddar for the cheese food but I can see it just as good the other way. Quick and appeals to many tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This just did not hit the spot. It's just missing some oomph. I agree it needs a can of Rotel (chilies & tomatoes) and maybe some beans or a veggie (corn?). Might as well make it into an enchilada casserole for all the stuff it needs to make it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great starter recipe. I always cook my onions with the meat. Cooked chicken is great in this too. just bake it, etc. and cut into small pieces use as the meat. My husband that never likes casseroles loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
The recipe provided is a good place from which to start. I substituted a can of tomatoes and chilies instead of just chilies. After browning the meat&onions I added the can of tomatoes, turned the eye up to high and cooked out most of the liquid. I seasoned the beef mixture w taco seasoning, cumin powder, garlic powder and chili powder. Corn is good in this casserole too. I only used 4 tortillas. For the cheese I used white American and sharp cheddar. This is such a quick meal to throw together... serve with some black beans and you're set. We've had this twice in 1 week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This recipe sounds great and I would like to add it to my list of easy casserole but are there any recipes like this one that DON'T call for a commercial soup? Many of the name brands contain a heavy dose of salt and in addition, MSG, hydrolized protein or autolysed yeast, (all the same thing) are added making any prepared food high in sodium content and for some of us a serious health hazard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Use Pam to "grease" your casserole dish to cut back on fat. Saute the onions when you brown the hamburger meat. Add some fresh sliced jalapeno peppers. It needs a kick to it. Don't use that awful processed cheese food! Too much fat, imitation everything. Not worth buying. Use either a Mexican blend (there are low fat blends) or grate some cheddar and jack. There is a pepper jack cheese that is wonderful in this, and don't use a pound of cheese in it. Way too much! With some tweaking this dish can be turned into a four or perhaps a five star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I didn't read the suggestions from other reviewers and made it just as the recipe stated and it was bland. After reading some of the other reviews I may try it again an would cook the onions with the beef, I didn't like them uncooked. I did use a Mexican cheese blend instead of the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Great Recipe, I added more chilis and Jalepenos for extra kick. Also used low fat cream cheese and it turned out great. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
As recommended by other reviewers, I used crushed tortilla chips instead of the fresh corn tortillas. I didn't have any cream of chicken soup, so I used a can of Southwestern Chicken Verde, which was really just cream of chicken with some green chiles added. I added some jalapenos for some bite, and because I'm not big on "processed cheese food", I used a combination of grated cheddar and pepper jack cheeses. This was okay. A decent Tuesday night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States