Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I loved this soup. I used ground turkey in place of the beef and I was not shy with the cayenne pepper. I also added a little cumin and chile power to spice up the turkey. I'll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
When I was in college we would have called this 'stuff and glop' which is not an insult - we'd take some ground beef and throw in a can of this or that and enough spice to kill the bad taste, This recipe is like that except it is well seasoned and thought out. Cheap easy and delish, thanks 2sider! I might substitute some short pasta for the potatoes and use some tomato paste in with the meat at the start to give it a bit more depth, but it's good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Very delicious. Only one suggestion: Add the water as you go along, depending on if you want it thicker or thinner (I added none at all). This one is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was delicious! I adapted it to the crock pot, but would still be a really quick meal for supper if made according to the recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I don't cook often - just the quick and easy recipes here. This is the only recipe my boyfriend has ever requested me to make again. (He has twice!). He likes very spicy food so I omitted can of green chilis and used a can of Rotel Extra Hot. Used just 1 can of peeled tomatoes. Preboiled potatoes also. We both love this - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
i got this in my mail this morn, made it tonight, had to make a couple changes, i only had one can of tomato sauce so i use tomato paste with alittle more water and i use can tomatoes with added green chiles so there was extra. i did add alittle tomato/basil mrs. dash. it was great! we loved it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
What a big hit with my family! I liked it, but my husband couldn't get enough of it. He ate 5 bowls! He would give it 6 stars. Didn't change a thing and served it with hot french bread & butter, and a mixed green salad on the side. Will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This stew is delicious! It went great with cast iron skillet corn bread. I prepared it exactly as instructed except I omitted one cup of water. My family loved it so I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
nice on a cold winters night - easy and very healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
A nice change from chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States