Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Very delicious. Only one suggestion: Add the water as you go along, depending on if you want it thicker or thinner (I added none at all). This one is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
nice on a cold winters night - easy and very healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I loved this soup. I used ground turkey in place of the beef and I was not shy with the cayenne pepper. I also added a little cumin and chile power to spice up the turkey. I'll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
When I was in college we would have called this 'stuff and glop' which is not an insult - we'd take some ground beef and throw in a can of this or that and enough spice to kill the bad taste, This recipe is like that except it is well seasoned and thought out. Cheap easy and delish, thanks 2sider! I might substitute some short pasta for the potatoes and use some tomato paste in with the meat at the start to give it a bit more depth, but it's good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
A nice change from chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I used one can Rotell Tomatoes with Green Chilies and one can tomatoes with sweet onions and roasted garlic. I also used dried onions. Very good, a little spicy but good on a cold winter day. It is thick and more like a chili than a stew. I will make it again. Leftovers are great for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was delicious! I adapted it to the crock pot, but would still be a really quick meal for supper if made according to the recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This is a great base recipe. I think it should pack a bit more punch and we add 16 oz of green chiles. Double up on potatoes and corn. I use 3 lbs of extra lean ground beef. My family loves it and the four of us eat every bit of the 6 quarts it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Laguna, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This stew is delicious! It went great with cast iron skillet corn bread. I prepared it exactly as instructed except I omitted one cup of water. My family loved it so I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Good - better the next day. Added some of my homemade salsa to give it more oomph. Served topped with grated cheese and raw sweet onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States