Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
What a big hit with my family! I liked it, but my husband couldn't get enough of it. He ate 5 bowls! He would give it 6 stars. Didn't change a thing and served it with hot french bread & butter, and a mixed green salad on the side. Will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
When I read this receipe I thought boy I'm not going to like this, but since all the other reviews significant others loved it I thought I'd make it for my dear Hubby. It was delicious and even though I upped the heat with habanero sauce I really like it too. Very good,very easy and very healthy. I put this in my WW online build a receipe and the only change I made was to use Ground Turkey Breast instead of ground meat. It came up with 3 points per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I literally threw this together quickly the other night and it was a hit with my husband. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used a can of Amy's Organic Cream of Tomato Soup instead; it worked great. I also added some chili powder and Tabasco Brand seasoned salt. I used frozen corn instead of canned and the leftover boiled redskinned potatoes I had from the night before were substituted for the fresh ones. I will definitely make this again; it was so easy and very delicious the next day! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
VERY boring. Had to be doctored quite a bit to give it much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I think this soup is very good except for the gardenzola beans. This is my 10 yr old daughter's opinion. She gives it 4 stars. I cannot give this any rating, because I did not follow the recipe to a tee! I used 3 cans of beef broth and one vegie. The curry did not work well with the beef broth. If I had to rate it for my change I would give it a 3+. My recommendation would be to follow the recipe. If I did do this again I would cut the curry down, unless you really like curry, give it a try. I am told to give a rating so here I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
i got this in my mail this morn, made it tonight, had to make a couple changes, i only had one can of tomato sauce so i use tomato paste with alittle more water and i use can tomatoes with added green chiles so there was extra. i did add alittle tomato/basil mrs. dash. it was great! we loved it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
A tasty recipe that is really easy to make. I like it that I have everything on hand that I need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I thought this recipe was good, but not great. It's pretty bland. I liked the leftovers the next day better. My mom really liked it, though, so it gets 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I don't cook often - just the quick and easy recipes here. This is the only recipe my boyfriend has ever requested me to make again. (He has twice!). He likes very spicy food so I omitted can of green chilis and used a can of Rotel Extra Hot. Used just 1 can of peeled tomatoes. Preboiled potatoes also. We both love this - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I loved this soup. I used ground turkey in place of the beef and I was not shy with the cayenne pepper. I also added a little cumin and chile power to spice up the turkey. I'll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States