Green Chile Stew with Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is delicious. My son loved it and my husband enjoyed it too (he's the picky one). I LOVE green chile and pick up the Hatch chiles in NM when I'm there. I can pull roasted hatch chiles from my freezer and use them in this dish. I've also roasted green chile's in my oven but they can be purchased canned or frozen (hatch chiles) and they work well. I used the canned salsa the first time I made this but I think I'll just add a little stewed tomatoes and chiles next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I am a huge fan of fiery food and this stew is fantastic! My fiance is always asking me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
My husband and I both loved it. I had to simmer longer - almost 3 hours - to get the meat really tender and to have the stew thicken - but it was well worth it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
My husband and I LOVE this soup! It's good without fresh cilantro too. We've experimented with different prepared green salsas and now have 2 favorites to use with this recipe. I've also substituted black and/or kidney beans to change things up. It always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
my family loved it. i did add potatoes to make it more hearty since i have 6 people i need to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I made this stew and it was wonderful !! I used canned Green Chillies and I added 5 medium potatoes and a can of corn. It has a spicy flavor. Very good on a cold night with a batch of cornbread muffins !! Yum Yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This recipe works really well with pre-cut beef stew meat. I double the celery, add one can of corn, and to thicken it, add a bit of sour cream. Very yummy and freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Excellent recipe. Added green Tabasco though. Needed more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
The stew was great! Added potatoes and onions. Next time I will skip the green chile salsa, it gave it a tangy taste, it was perfect before. This one is a keeper. Served it over sopaipillas, will try next time as enchilada sauce. 2015~taste has changed. I prefer the green chile salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Wow!! I've had this dish in my favorite Mexican restaurant and this recipe has to be about as close as you can come to it. I added an onion and a bell pepper along with the celery and garlic. I also chose to add the potatoes. My husband really enjoyed it. It was a little on the spicy side but all in all it was a great dish. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States