Green Chile Stew with Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I made this stew for the first time for a SuperBowl party. It was a HUGE hit! Since then, I have made it several times for friends, family, and co-workers. I am always asked for the recipe. I have used both beef and pork, and either meat works really well. I love that you can adjust the heat according to taste and stomachs. The stew takes a little time to prepare (chopping, roasting, searing, etc), but if you throw everything in a crockpot, you have a wonderful meal waiting for you when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
My husband and I LOVE this soup! It's good without fresh cilantro too. We've experimented with different prepared green salsas and now have 2 favorites to use with this recipe. I've also substituted black and/or kidney beans to change things up. It always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
This is one of my wife's favorites. We got this recipe out of Jeff Smith's(The Frugal Gourmet Cooks American). Did he plagarize this from Christine L.?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
i made this stew using chopped green chilis from a jar. i also used a little cornstarch to thicken my gravy at the end of the cooking process. it was great! very tasty and flavorful, and just like the green chili stew they serve in new mexico. also, it's not very hot so kids can enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Wow!! I've had this dish in my favorite Mexican restaurant and this recipe has to be about as close as you can come to it. I added an onion and a bell pepper along with the celery and garlic. I also chose to add the potatoes. My husband really enjoyed it. It was a little on the spicy side but all in all it was a great dish. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I made this stew and it was wonderful !! I used canned Green Chillies and I added 5 medium potatoes and a can of corn. It has a spicy flavor. Very good on a cold night with a batch of cornbread muffins !! Yum Yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
my family loved it. i did add potatoes to make it more hearty since i have 6 people i need to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
My husband and I both loved it. I had to simmer longer - almost 3 hours - to get the meat really tender and to have the stew thicken - but it was well worth it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I am a huge fan of fiery food and this stew is fantastic! My fiance is always asking me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is delicious. My son loved it and my husband enjoyed it too (he's the picky one). I LOVE green chile and pick up the Hatch chiles in NM when I'm there. I can pull roasted hatch chiles from my freezer and use them in this dish. I've also roasted green chile's in my oven but they can be purchased canned or frozen (hatch chiles) and they work well. I used the canned salsa the first time I made this but I think I'll just add a little stewed tomatoes and chiles next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

A great one for the grill. The sweet and spicy rub turns crispy delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States