Green Chile Stew with Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I made this stew for the first time for a SuperBowl party. It was a HUGE hit! Since then, I have made it several times for friends, family, and co-workers. I am always asked for the recipe. I have used both beef and pork, and either meat works really well. I love that you can adjust the heat according to taste and stomachs. The stew takes a little time to prepare (chopping, roasting, searing, etc), but if you throw everything in a crockpot, you have a wonderful meal waiting for you when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I would've rated higher, but this recipe has been copied, word for word, from Jeff Smith's "The Frugal Gourmet Cooks American" (pp 64-65). Plagiarism aside, it's a wonderful dish, and I agree that it benefits from a few tomatillos. (This is a durable little recipe, and it could handle the addition of just about anything you have a taste for.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Burrito Carlito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This is much like Mexican Posole. I added 1 tsp. ground cumin and used hominy instead of corn or potatoes. Delish! My 3 year old didn't care for it much, too much spice I suppose? I cooked it in my crock pot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Awful! Possibly the only recipe my fiance and I have ever tossed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
i made this stew using chopped green chilis from a jar. i also used a little cornstarch to thicken my gravy at the end of the cooking process. it was great! very tasty and flavorful, and just like the green chili stew they serve in new mexico. also, it's not very hot so kids can enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
TEX MEX. I was looking fer a recipe (non Tex-Mex) akin to the ones found in Mexican and Native American Indian restaurants/cafes (AZ, CO, CA, NM). So if that's the type you're looking fer...skip it, cause this ain't it...this recipe is pure Tex-Mex. The recipe is easy and delicious. The short time needed (for a stew) is a big plus. I actually kept it simmering almost two hours later and still delicious. This is the best Tex-Mex recipe I've found to date on this site. I can't wait to top off my Chilaquiles with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZCHOCTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This turned out wonderful! I used leftover pork chops, substituted the tomatoes with tomatillos, used a good quality green salsa, added some diced potatoes, threw in a bit of cumin and wow! My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was so delicious! Wasn't sure when to add the green chili salsa, so I dumped most of it in w/ the other vegetables. I cooked this in a dutch oven in the oven really low and it was wonderfully tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is delicious. My son loved it and my husband enjoyed it too (he's the picky one). I LOVE green chile and pick up the Hatch chiles in NM when I'm there. I can pull roasted hatch chiles from my freezer and use them in this dish. I've also roasted green chile's in my oven but they can be purchased canned or frozen (hatch chiles) and they work well. I used the canned salsa the first time I made this but I think I'll just add a little stewed tomatoes and chiles next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was terrific! We loved it! It has a nice tang to it (we used medium chiles) and a great flavor. Did it in the crockpot and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States