Green Chile Stew with Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I made this stew for the first time for a SuperBowl party. It was a HUGE hit! Since then, I have made it several times for friends, family, and co-workers. I am always asked for the recipe. I have used both beef and pork, and either meat works really well. I love that you can adjust the heat according to taste and stomachs. The stew takes a little time to prepare (chopping, roasting, searing, etc), but if you throw everything in a crockpot, you have a wonderful meal waiting for you when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
i made this stew using chopped green chilis from a jar. i also used a little cornstarch to thicken my gravy at the end of the cooking process. it was great! very tasty and flavorful, and just like the green chili stew they serve in new mexico. also, it's not very hot so kids can enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Awful! Possibly the only recipe my fiance and I have ever tossed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
This is one of my wife's favorites. We got this recipe out of Jeff Smith's(The Frugal Gourmet Cooks American). Did he plagarize this from Christine L.?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This is much like Mexican Posole. I added 1 tsp. ground cumin and used hominy instead of corn or potatoes. Delish! My 3 year old didn't care for it much, too much spice I suppose? I cooked it in my crock pot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Wow!! I've had this dish in my favorite Mexican restaurant and this recipe has to be about as close as you can come to it. I added an onion and a bell pepper along with the celery and garlic. I also chose to add the potatoes. My husband really enjoyed it. It was a little on the spicy side but all in all it was a great dish. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
The stew was great! Added potatoes and onions. Next time I will skip the green chile salsa, it gave it a tangy taste, it was perfect before. This one is a keeper. Served it over sopaipillas, will try next time as enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Excellent recipe. Added green Tabasco though. Needed more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This recipe works really well with pre-cut beef stew meat. I double the celery, add one can of corn, and to thicken it, add a bit of sour cream. Very yummy and freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I made this stew and it was wonderful !! I used canned Green Chillies and I added 5 medium potatoes and a can of corn. It has a spicy flavor. Very good on a cold night with a batch of cornbread muffins !! Yum Yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States