Green Chile Stew with Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I would've rated higher, but this recipe has been copied, word for word, from Jeff Smith's "The Frugal Gourmet Cooks American" (pp 64-65). Plagiarism aside, it's a wonderful dish, and I agree that it benefits from a few tomatillos. (This is a durable little recipe, and it could handle the addition of just about anything you have a taste for.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Burrito Carlito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Oh my goodness! This was wonderful!! My first try using Hatch chiles. So easy and good. We grilled the chiles the night before with a pork tenderloin. I put them in a zip lock bag in the fridge over night and the skins slipped right off. We cubed up the leftover pork, and sauted that with onion and 4 cloves of garlic (only addition) - Have to have garlic!! We had this over white rice, but I can imagine filling enchiladas with this stuff-its amazing! Will be making this often this fall and winter! I will be submitting a photo- but it won't be pretty- looks aren't everything!! Thank you Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Also added potatoes and canned pinto beans, rinsed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is very similar to the green chile stew one finds in restaurants in New Mexico. I add a few potatoes chopped in one inch cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
great recipe. only change was I lightly dredged pork in all purpose flour before browning. Sealed the juices in the pork and added som thickness when scraping up the bits with the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This turned out wonderful! I used leftover pork chops, substituted the tomatoes with tomatillos, used a good quality green salsa, added some diced potatoes, threw in a bit of cumin and wow! My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I added a large can of hominy, and cooked the whole thing in the crock pot at high for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was terrific! We loved it! It has a nice tang to it (we used medium chiles) and a great flavor. Did it in the crockpot and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I was so disappointed with this recipe as I was looking forward to it as I haven't had green chile since I lived in Denver. This was way to tart/tangy. I wish I had listened to a previous reviewer who said they only used half a jar of the green salsa. I tried to cut the tartness with some sour cream, but to no avail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is delicious. My son loved it and my husband enjoyed it too (he's the picky one). I LOVE green chile and pick up the Hatch chiles in NM when I'm there. I can pull roasted hatch chiles from my freezer and use them in this dish. I've also roasted green chile's in my oven but they can be purchased canned or frozen (hatch chiles) and they work well. I used the canned salsa the first time I made this but I think I'll just add a little stewed tomatoes and chiles next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

A great one for the grill. The sweet and spicy rub turns crispy delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States