Green Chile Stew with Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made 2/3 of the recipe due to the size of pork tenderloin I had. I added three tomatillos and two jalapenos. I used salsa verde type of salsa. I also dredged the meat in a mixture of flour, cumin, salt, pepper and garlic prior to browning it. This was amazing except for the size of stew it was way too hot with two jalapenos. Next time I will make the full recipe and add just one jalapeno. I served it with some fresh cilantro, shredded cheese and chunks of fresh avocado. This is wonderful! My husband and I both loved it! Terrific recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Like someone before me, I noticed this was lifted right from "The Frugal Gourmet", except this person didn't even mention to roast the chilis, which in my opinion helps to make the recipe! Very good, however (with the ROASTED chilis). I don't think there are any copyright laws on recipes, but the description could have at least been original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Amazing flavor. I ended up putting a whole jar of green salsa in it, rather than a little at the end. My son didn't like it, but he's 8 and picky, so no surprise there. I kept it low carb and didn't add any corn or hominy, but it would definitely be a tasty addition if you prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Great recipe sooo easy and tastes great. Used a reviewers advice and put in cumin gives it a deeper flavor. Also I've played with the veggies and have used zucchini from the garden. Have now made three times and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
i put all ingredients in my crock pot and let it cook for 4 hours on high. I was pleased with result. Flavors would be more enhanced by following directions exactly, but i'm a mom looking for short cuts in my kitchen. I did use tomatillos instead of the tomatoes and omitted the chilis so i could serve it to my 18 month old. Also, we served ours over a bed of rice which complimented nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I have been looking for a good recipe for green chili stew for years... and this was it!!! So delicious! It rivals that made at a local restaraunt that my boys and I love! I have made it twice now, and the difference was the green chili salsa I chose. Both batches were very tasty one was more tart because of the amount of tomitillos in the salsa. Changes I made: - Dredged the pork in flour (2C) ,1T cumin, 2T cilantro, 2T cardimon, salt, and pepper to fry off. This requires more oil, but thickens the chili. I reserve the lefter dredging flour for a thickener if needed later. - Added 2T of smokey serrano chili sauce. - Add a can of rotel tomatoes with habanero for a little extra heat. - I used canned whole green fire roasted chiles diced up. - Added 1/2 a bunch of finely chopped cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Our family enjoyed this meal last night. The pork was so tender. My husband, the cook, made a few changes which included 5 green chiles instead of 7; 7oz of green chile salsa instead of 10oz; added corn, black beans, red bell pepper, and 1/2 onion chopped. We served this with a sprinkling of grated cheese and some sour cream. Can wait to try this as the stuffing of enchilades with chile verde sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I used poblano chiles. I added more garlic, some onions, bay leaves, and cumin. It was a little bland, but not bad. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was so delicious! Wasn't sure when to add the green chili salsa, so I dumped most of it in w/ the other vegetables. I cooked this in a dutch oven in the oven really low and it was wonderfully tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
TEX MEX. I was looking fer a recipe (non Tex-Mex) akin to the ones found in Mexican and Native American Indian restaurants/cafes (AZ, CO, CA, NM). So if that's the type you're looking fer...skip it, cause this ain't it...this recipe is pure Tex-Mex. The recipe is easy and delicious. The short time needed (for a stew) is a big plus. I actually kept it simmering almost two hours later and still delicious. This is the best Tex-Mex recipe I've found to date on this site. I can't wait to top off my Chilaquiles with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZCHOCTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States