Green Chile Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this last night - I left out the butter to cut some fat and added 2 diced tomatoes and some ground pepper. (and maybe was a big generous with the cheddar cheese...) This turned out moist and delicious! I have passed on the recipe to a couple of coworkers who followed their sniffer to my desk after I just warmed some up and was munching away happily At my desk. Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe - Melanie! I will keep making this and passing it along to friends and family! *UPDATE* Have been making a more "filling" version for my husband - I buy beef rouladen, cut into thin strips, and stir fry it with a diced onion, I let that cool a bit and then add it to the egg mixture. I microwave a couple of potatoes and peel those, and add that to the casserole dish before I sprinkle cheese on top. He happily devours it, although he hates the idea of cottage cheese, and is not a big egg-fan. Thanks Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Added fresh garlic and extra cheddar, plus a little pepper jack cheese. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was very fluffy and tasty. I did alter the recipe a bit, I used 1/2 egg whites, and 1/2 egg substitute and low fat cheddar cheese. My guests couldn't tell the difference! I also added some sauteed onions and mushroom and diced thin-sliced deli-style ham. I served it on top of some black beans, topped with sour cream, salsa, and avocado slices. Yuummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
first time cooking a fritatta.This is a wondreful recipe!!!!We loved it.Cooked 2 FZ pork sausage patties and cut them up(grease out) put them and a little dehydrated onion in .Also used egg beaters.Cut recipe down to 8 and it left enough for micro warm up lunch. served with salsa and sour cream.GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have a friend who frequently makes this exact recipe for a breakfast we have with friends every month. She triples the recipe when she makes it and freezes the other two batches in separate ziploc bags. She can then thaw one of the bags in the fridge overnight and bake it the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Delicious with great texture, fluffy and moist. It's easy and fast to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladydispy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I love this recipe. I'll pour it into cupcake tins coated with cooking spray and reduce the cooking time a bit. I'll also often used 1/2 C pepper jack and 1/2 C cheddar - and when I'm really craving spice I'll toss a tablespoon or so of crushed red peppers. You can really add just about any veggie or cooked meat to it, but I've noticed some veggies might make it a little too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Wow, this frittata recipe is a winner! Not only is it PERFECT as written, but it can easily be tweaked with some different spices and cheeses. I used some asiago (my fav cheese) along with the cheddar, and I garnished the top with slices of fresh tomatoes and chopped basil from my garden. It was like a picture in a magazine and scrumptious to boot. Thanks for posting, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Hmm. I made this because I was trying to use up some cottage cheese in my fridge. It definitely had a different texture from the frittatas I am used to making- not bad, just different. I'm giving it three stars because I think it's a little bland as is. Next time I would add more veggies and definitely more chiles- I didn't feel like I could really taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States