Green Chile Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe. The only change that I made to it, was to make it with EggBeaters instead of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I buy the whole canned mild green chiles. Then I stuff them with a chunky stick of jack cheese and lay them into a buttered casserole dish. Pour the egg mixture over the top and cover with shredded cheddar cheese. Bake till puffed and set in center. Serve by lifting out a whole stuffed chile for each serving. Nice presentation and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very good, simple recipe. I am always looking for a great brunch dish...that it incorporates chiles is a bonus. I would not call it a fritatta, though, it is more quiche-like, or strata-like in nature...minus the crust or bread, of course. Truly a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is definitely not a frittata. Frittatas are cooked on top of the stove and then put in the oven to finish off, more like an omlette. This is more like a crustless quiche. Still good, however. I think it can be improved by adding some sausage or bacon. Maybe ham or even ground beef that has been drained of all fat. It's an easy recipe to tweak to what you have on hand and like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe is a great starting platform for substitutions and additions! I substituted 3 chipotle chiles in adobo in place of the green chiles and reduced the butter by half. I was concerned about the cottage cheese buy it turned out great. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I made this dish for a breakfast and everyone loved it, in fact my cousin took the recipe home with her. The only change I made, being from Texas, I used chopped jalapenos instead of green chilies. I love that it doesn't have bread in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Crowd pleaser!! I did it in an 11 inch spring form pan, which really worked well. The call for cottage cheese struck me as odd, but it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
My husband told me he wanted me to make him some beans and eggs- a pretty common mexican breakfast and one of his favorites. I felt like mixing it up a little so I made this casserole and some homemade refried beans. I served some nice warm corn tortillas on the side and it was a great breakfast! My husband loved it. The green chiles added a lot of flavor. As much as I liked this casserole, eating it with beans made it even better! Refried beans are easy. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Turned out great even without the shredded cheese. Added finely chopped red bell pepper. Will try again with bacon or sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I love this recipe. It is quick and easy and it is so nice to have a breakfast casserole with no bread or meat in it for a change. My husband, who does not like any kind of casserole, actually ate it! This has become our Christmas breakfast so thank you for posting and adding to our traditions. I will experiment with some of the suggestions from others, just for fun, but love the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States