Green Chile Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I have never made frittata and I don't even know if I have eaten it but this recipe is really good!!! I made it as written the first time and it was great!!! The second time I used diced tomatoes, green peppers, zucchini and mushrooms. I used self rising flour and omitted the melted butter. It was just as good as the original. Great recipe and easy to substitute whatever you have on hand! I make enough for five servings and pack them in individual serving containers and take to work for breakfast every morning. Thanks for posting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Shields Hovers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was so easy and actually really tasty for so few ingredients. The only changed I used was making sure I had all non-fat/low-fat ingredients and I added jalepenos. I still feel it could use a little zip to make up for using so many low fat items that I might play around with it and add some garlic or onions next time. All over a really easy, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
wonderful. we made several pans of this last year for our church graduation breakfast and it was a huge hit. I came back to search for the recipe so we can use it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe. The only change that I made to it, was to make it with EggBeaters instead of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I buy the whole canned mild green chiles. Then I stuff them with a chunky stick of jack cheese and lay them into a buttered casserole dish. Pour the egg mixture over the top and cover with shredded cheddar cheese. Bake till puffed and set in center. Serve by lifting out a whole stuffed chile for each serving. Nice presentation and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very good, simple recipe. I am always looking for a great brunch dish...that it incorporates chiles is a bonus. I would not call it a fritatta, though, it is more quiche-like, or strata-like in nature...minus the crust or bread, of course. Truly a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is definitely not a frittata. Frittatas are cooked on top of the stove and then put in the oven to finish off, more like an omlette. This is more like a crustless quiche. Still good, however. I think it can be improved by adding some sausage or bacon. Maybe ham or even ground beef that has been drained of all fat. It's an easy recipe to tweak to what you have on hand and like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe is a great starting platform for substitutions and additions! I substituted 3 chipotle chiles in adobo in place of the green chiles and reduced the butter by half. I was concerned about the cottage cheese buy it turned out great. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I made this dish for a breakfast and everyone loved it, in fact my cousin took the recipe home with her. The only change I made, being from Texas, I used chopped jalapenos instead of green chilies. I love that it doesn't have bread in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Crowd pleaser!! I did it in an 11 inch spring form pan, which really worked well. The call for cottage cheese struck me as odd, but it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States